Bois et forêts des tropiques

Abstracts & articles: n° 334
(4th quarter 2017)


All abstracts
(In French, English and Spanish)

New issue

Issue 334


 

EFFECTS OF DIFFERENT NANOCLAY
LOADINGS ON THE PHYSICAL
AND MECHANICAL PROPERTIES
OF MELIA COMPOSITA PARTICLE BOARD

N. Ismita, C. Lokesh

This study investigated the effects of adding a filler of nano-sized particles of Cloisite Na+ (nanoclay) to urea-formaldehyde resin on the physical and mechanical properties of particle boards made with this resin. Cloisite Na+ was introduced at rates of 2%, 4% and 6% of the dry mass of the resin. Density, water absorption (WA), thickness swelling (TS), modulus of rupture (MOR), modulus of elasticity (MOE) and internal bond strength (IB) were measured to evaluate the performance of the boards. Significant improvements were observed for TS, MOR and MOE when Cloisite Na+ was added to the resin. More specifically, in samples bonded with UF resin and 6% nanoclay, 34% and 65% increases were observed in MOR and MOE respectively compared to the control boards.

Keywords: Melia composita, mechanical properties, nanoclay, particle board, physical properties, urea-formaldehyde.


Download
the article

IMPACT OF TREE SHADING ON THE MICROCLIMATE OF A COFFEE PLANTATION: A CASE STUDY FROM THE PERUVIAN AMAZON

L. Ehrenbergerová, M. Šenfeldr, H. Habrová

Agroforestry is considered to be one of the agricultural strategies that could help to adapt crops to climate change. As a case study, we compared the microclimatic conditions at a location where Coffea arabica was shaded mainly by Inga spp. with the conditions in an unshaded C. arabica monoculture in the same coffee plantation in the Pasco region in Peru. Air temperature, air humidity, soil temperature and soil water availability were measured over three years. The results indicate that tree shading reduced the mean air temperature by 0.4 ± 0.04 °C and soil temperature by 1.7 ± 0.3 °C, and increased air humidity by 3.9 ± 0.4% compared to the unshaded area. However, the monthly average air temperature and even the monthly maximum in the unshaded area did not greatly exceed the limits for photosynthesis (upper limit 34 °C). Moreover, the minimum monthly air temperatures were similar in the shaded and unshaded areas. The soil temperatures did, however, fluctuate more markedly in the unshaded area. One of the main findings of this case study was that soil conditions were drier in the shaded area, especially at the beginning and end of the dry season. This was probably due to increased total transpiration resulting from that contributed by the shade trees. Thus, higher water uptake in agroforestry systems might have a negative impact on the growth of coffee plants where water availability is a limiting factor.

Keywords: agroforestry system, air humidity, Coffea arabica, soil temperature, soil water availability, Peru, Amazonia.


Download
the article

ACACIA AURICULIFORMIS PRODUCTION IN THE MAMPU AGROFORESTRY ZONE ON THE BATÉKÉ PLATEAU, DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

P. Proces, E. Dubiez, F. Bisiaux, A. Péroches, A. Fayolle

The Mampu agroforestry zone on the Batéké plateau in the Democratic Republic of Congo, which has been managed with Acacia auriculiformis shade trees for over twenty years by local communities, supplies subsistence products and fuel wood to Kinshasa. Thanks to international grant funding, this agroforestry system, which integrates traditional slashand- burn cultivation, has been replicated in many places across the RDC, but its performance has never been assessed. The aim of this study was to estimate Acacia auriculiformis production in terms of total biomass and usable biomass for charcoal (stems and branches more than 4 cm in diameter) as part of the agroforestry system. To do so, two local allometric equations for total and usable biomass were adjusted from destructive testing data. Using existing inventory data (n = 112 plots), we identified significant structural heterogeneity throughout the rotation period (8-10 years) but also among plots of the same age. Despite this heterogeneity, which may be accounted for by environmental conditions on site and/or by differences in the handling of plot management techniques, production is comparable to that observed at other sites, averaging 145 tonnes per hectare over 10 years. The Mampu agroforestry system has many advantages, including direct services creating rural employment and combined production of subsistence goods and charcoal, but also indirect services such as avoided deforestation and carbon sequestration. The system’s sustainability and dissemination should nevertheless be discussed.

Keywords: Acacia auriculiformis, biomass allocation, allometric equation, biomass expansion factor, forest inventory, volume table, short rotation, Democratic Republic of Congo.


Download
the article

PRODUCTION OF ARGANIA SPINOSA SEEDLINGS IN MOROCCO: CHOOSING THE RIGHT CONTAINER AND SUBSTRATE

A. Ferradous, M. Hafidi, M. Alifriqui, A. Ouhammou

To obtain high quality argan seedlings (Argania spinosa L. Skeels) in the nursery, eight types of containers and three different substrates for off-ground cultivation (shredded composted branches of Acacia cyanophylla, composted hulls of Tetraclinis articulata seeds, commercial peat) mixed with leaf mould in different proportions were tested. Physico-chemical analysis of the substrates showed that the two locally produced types of compost were better indicated for the production of high quality argan seedlings. These substrates could be an alternative to costly, imported peat-based substrates. Compost can be produced satisfactorily from shredded Acacia cyanophylla branches to meet the needs of local tree nurseries. Changes in morphological parameters and analyses of the seedlings after seven months in the nursery showed that a 400 ml container is suitable for the production of argan seedlings of similar quality to that obtained with 800 ml polythene bags. These results are a first step towards mastering techniques for off-ground production of argan seedlings and other indigenous Moroccan tree species. Further study would be needed on other aspects of seedling production in Moroccan nurseries, such as irrigation, fertilisation and mycorhization. Trial plantations are under consideration to confirm the results of this study.

Keywords: argan tree, Argania spinosa, seedling, container, substrate, nursery, compost, peat, Morocco.


Download
the article

ETHNIC AND GENERATIONAL DIFFERENCES IN TRADITIONAL KNOWLEDGE AND CULTURAL IMPORTANCE OF LANNEA MICROCARPA ENGL. & K. KRAUSE IN BENIN’S SUDANIAN SAVANNAH

E. O. A. Goudégnon, F. G. Vodouhê, G. N. Gouwakinnou, V. K. Salako, M. Oumorou

Understanding the socio-cultural importance of indigenous fruit trees (IFT) and its determining factors is a prerequisite for developing their value and making management decisions. This study documented traditional knowledge (TK) and the cultural importance (CI) of Lannea microcarpa, a neglected and underused indigenous fruit tree found in Benin’s Sudanian region. The study further tested whether TK and CI varied according to ethnic groups and generations. We collected data on the uses and importance of the species from 262 informants who were randomly selected within its zone of occurrence, using free lists and scoring, respectively. Twenty-eight specific usages divided in eigth categories of uses were reported, of which 21 were medicinal, 2 were commercial, and 1 each was for human food, fodder, firewood, construction, packaging and toothpicks. Contrary to the other use categories, traditional knowledge on food uses did not vary either between generations or among ethnic groups. In addition, food use was culturally the most important, followed by medicinal uses. Overall, the fruit was the most preferred and most frequently commercialised part of the plant. Medical conditions treated with L. microcarpa include anaemia, diarrhoea, coughs, ulcers, stomach aches and blood evacuation after childbirth. Our findings suggest that domestication of L. microcarpa should prioritise the fruit, which is the most valued part of the plant. Further studies should therefore focus on the domestication potential of L. microcarpa for its fruit traits and on how to improve fruit production.

Keywords: Lannea microcarpa, folk knowledge, development of fruit species, Sudanian zone, Benin.


Download
the article

QUALITY AND USES OF TIMBER FROM FIVE FOREST SPECIES SUITED TO PLANTATION MANAGEMENT AND TESTED IN FRENCH GUIANA

H. Morel, E. Nicolini, J. Bossu, L. Blanc, J. Beauchêne

Forest plantation trials have been conducted in French Guiana since the early 1960s with over 138 tree species (70 native and 68 exotic). A recent study on their productivity in plantations (ForesTreeCulture project, 2013-2015) showed the high potential of three native species (Simarouba amara Aubl., Vochysia tomentosa (G. Mey.) DC., Bagassa guianensis (Aubl.)) and one West African species (Tarrietia utilis Sprague), all of which produced timber volumes in excess of 20 m3/ha/year. However, the properties of these as commercial species are known only from trees that have grown in their natural forest environment. This article describes the properties of their timber when produced in plantation conditions – density, shrinkage, elasticity, angle of the grain, durability – and discusses the future potential and uses of each. A fourth species, Cordia alliodora ((Ruiz & Pavon) Oken), was also selected for study although it has not yet been planted in French Guiana. This species is native to French Guiana and well known across Latin America for its timber and high potential for growth in managed environments.

Keywords: technical properties, timber quality, plantation, French Guiana.


Download
the article

ACADEMIC THESIS ABSTRACT
Drivers of fungal community composition in Corsican forests: role of disturbance and plant composition

Adrien Taudière

ABSTRACT
Studies of the ecology of micro-organisms began only recently despite their intrinsic importance — both practical and theoretical — and their central role in forming the niche habitats of macro-organisms. Plant-fungi interactions offer a relevant model for studies of the ecology of micro-organisms interacting with macro-organisms because of their considerable ecological and economic value as well as their high taxonomic and ecological diversity. Using next-generation sequencing (NGS) and network analysis, we explored some of the drivers of fungal community composition in Corsica, at various scales and in three ecological guilds: ectomycorrhizal, endophytic and saprotrophic fungi. We investigated the effects on fungal communities of disturbance (e.g. fire and treefall), environmental variables (e.g. soil depth), constraints due to interactions with host plants (e.g. taxonomy) and dispersion. Some patterns of community assembly are similar across guilds and may be governed by the same mechanisms. We found wide variations in fungal communities at the micro-regional scale among the guilds studied and between forests with a different history of wildfires. However, the relative importance of assembly processes and the spatial scales at which they occur vary across guilds. In Corsican pine forests, fifteen years after a fire, the diversity of soil fungus is close to the diversity in unburned stands. Despite the absence of effects on diversity, fire produces clear shifts in the composition of soil fungus communities, in particular for saprobic fungi. We discuss the implications of these findings for plant and fungal community ecologists and for managers of natural areas.

Keywords: fungi, mycorrhiza, fire regime, community ecology, canopy gaps, decomposition, Pinus nigra subsp. laricio, mixed forest, Corsica, Mediterranean, France.


Download
the article

ACADEMIC THESIS ABSTRACT
Evolutionary history of the Afzelia Smith (Leguminosae - Caesalpinioideae) complex in forest and savannah ecosystems of tropical Africa

Segbedji Armel Loïc Donkpegan

ABSTRACT
The genus Afzelia Smith includes seven African tree species: two are found in the Zambezi region, one in the Sudanian region and four in the Guinea-Congo region. These taxa are commercially valuable but because they are difficult to distinguish, they are marketed under the same commercial name, either “doussié” or “afzelia”, which complicates sustainable management of their populations. The aim of this PhD thesis is to characterize the evolutionary history of the Afzelia genus. More specifically, our study aims to: (i) assess the extent of morphological divergence within the Afzelia genus and describe the phylogenetic relationships in order to quantify the reproductive isolation of the different taxa by identifying the role of past climate change and / or ecological gradients in the speciation of the genus; (ii) analyze the spatial genetic diversity and structure of Afzelia spp.; (iii) identify and describe the ecological, biotic and abiotic factors that may influence population-level gene flows in an Afzelia species (A. bipindensis). Our morpho-genetic analysis of the different species confirmed the strong botanical resemblance between the taxa. The savannah species are diploid and their genome is half the size of the forest species, which are tetraploid. The phylogenies of the genes, nuclear and chloroplastic, are not the same. The differences observed could have been generated by ancient hybridization between species, which would have occurred between the forest lineages and those of A. quanzensis, a Zambezi savannah species. Polyploidy probably emerged during the evolutionary history of the genus between 7 and 9.4 million years ago. Bayesian assignment and reproductive isolation analyses also suggested interspecies crossing, but only among forest species distributed sympatrically. On a more limited spatial scale, two well differentiated genetic groups of A. bipindensis were observed to be sympatric. These show differences in their morphology and flowering phenology that could contribute to their reproductive isolation. This study made several important findings: discovery of a polyploid complex within the Afzelia genus, confirmation of the boundaries of diploid savannah species and the need to revise the taxonomy of tetraploid forest species.

Keywords: Afzelia spp., phylogeny, phylogeography, genetic diversity, polyploidy, gene flow, phenology, savannah, tropical forests, tropical Africa.


Download
the article



AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH FOR DEVELOPMENT

Legal information - Last update: January 2018
© CIRAD 2001 - Contact: bft@cirad.fr

Bois et forêts des tropiques

Résumés et articles : n° 334
(4e trimestre 2017)


Tous les résumés
(en français, en anglais et en espagnol)

Nouveau numéro

Numéro 334


 

EFFETS DE DIFFÉRENTES CHARGES
DE NANOARGILE SUR LES PROPRIÉTÉS
PHYSIQUES ET MÉCANIQUES
DE PANNEAUX DE PARTICULES EN BOIS
DE MELIA COMPOSITA

N. Ismita, C. Lokesh

La présente étude a permis d’analyser les effets de l’ajout d’une charge de nanoparticules de Cloisite Na+ (nanoargile) dans une résine d’urée-formaldéhyde utilisée dans la fabrication de panneaux de particules. La Cloisite Na+ a été incorporée à 2 %, 4 % et 6 % de la masse sèche de résine. La densité, l’absorption d’eau (AE), le gonflement (G), les modules de rupture (MR) et d’élasticité (ME) et la résistance interne à l’arrachement (RI) ont été mesurés pour évaluer la performance des panneaux. Des améliorations significatives ont été constatées pour G, MR et ME avec de la Cloisite Na+ incorporée dans la résine. Plus précisément, pour les échantillons au liant UF additionné de 6 % de nanoargile, les valeurs MR et ME augmentent respectivement de 34 % et de 65 % par rapport aux panneaux de référence.

Mots-clés : Melia composita, propriétés mécaniques, nanoargile, panneau de particules, propriétés physiques, urée-formaldéhyde.


Télécharger
l'article

IMPACT DE L’OMBRAGE SUR LE MICROCLIMAT D’UNE PLANTATION DE CAFÉ : ÉTUDE DE CAS EN AMAZONIE PÉRUVIENNE

L. Ehrenbergerová, M. Šenfeldr, H. Habrová

L’agroforesterie est considérée comme l’une des stratégies agricoles pouvant contribuer à l’adaptation des cultures au changement climatique. La présente étude de cas visait à comparer les conditions microclimatiques d’une parcelle de Coffea arabica cultivée sous ombrage, principalement Inga spp., et celles d’une parcelle de C. arabica menée en monoculture sans ombrage dans la même plantation de café, dans la région de Pasco au Pérou. La température et l’humidité de l’air, la température du sol et la disponibilité en eau du sol ont été mesurées pendant trois ans. Les résultats indiquent que l’ombrage des arbres réduit la température moyenne de l’air de 0,4 ± 0,04 °C et la température du sol de 1,7 ± 0,3 °C, et augmente l’humidité de l’air de 3,9 ± 0,4 % par rapport à la zone sans ombrage. Cependant, la moyenne mensuelle des températures de l’air dans la zone non ombragée, et même la température maximale, ne dépassent pas outre mesure la limite permettant la photosynthèse (seuil 34 °C). De plus, les températures minimales mensuelles diffèrent peu entre les zones ombragées et non ombragées, alors que la fluctuation des températures du sol est plus marquée dans la zone non ombragée. Un des principaux constats de cette étude concerne la sécheresse plus marquée des sols dans la zone ombragée, surtout au début et à la fin de la saison sèche. Ceci s’explique probablement par l’augmentation de la transpiration totale par celle des arbres d’ombrage. L’absorption d’eau plus importante en agroforesterie pourrait ainsi avoir un impact négatif sur la croissance des caféiers dans les situations où la disponibilité en eau est un facteur limitatif.

Mots-clés : agroforesterie, humidité de l’air, Coffea arabica, température du sol, disponibilité en eau du sol, Pérou, Amazonie.


Télécharger
l'article

PRODUCTION D’ACACIA AURICULIFORMIS DANS LE SYSTÈME AGROFORESTIER DE MAMPU, PLATEAU BATÉKÉ, RÉPUBLIQUE DÉMOCRATIQUE DU CONGO

P. Proces, E. Dubiez, F. Bisiaux, A. Péroches, A. Fayolle

Géré par des communautés locales depuis plus de vingt ans, le massif agroforestier à Acacia auriculiformis de Mampu, sur le plateau Batéké en République démocratique du Congo (RDC), contribue à l’approvisionnement de Kinshasa en produits vivriers et en bois énergie. Grâce aux subventions internationales, ce système agroforestier, qui intègre la pratique de l’abattis-brûlis, est reproduit un peu partout en RDC, bien que sa performance n’ait jamais été évaluée. L’objectif de cette étude était d’estimer la production d’Acacia auriculiformis en biomasse totale et exploitable pour le charbon de bois (tige et branches de plus de 4 cm de diamètre) dans le système agroforestier. À cet effet, deux équations allométriques locales, portant sur la biomasse totale et exploitable, ont été ajustées à partir de données destructives. Des données d’inventaire existantes (n = 112 parcelles) ont permis d’identifier une grande hétérogénéité structurale sur l’ensemble de la rotation (8-10 ans) mais également entre parcelles du même âge. Malgré cette hétérogénéité qui peut s’expliquer par la diversité des conditions environnementales sur le site et/ou les disparités dans l’appropriation de l’itinéraire technique, la production reste néanmoins comparable à celle observée sur d’autres sites avec, en moyenne, 145 tonnes par hectare en 10 ans. Le système agroforestier de Mampu présente de nombreux avantages, des services directs avec la création d’emplois ruraux, et la production combinée de produits vivriers et de charbon de bois, mais aussi des services indirects, comme la déforestation évitée, et le stockage du carbone. La durabilité et la diffusion de ce système agroforestier peuvent néanmoins être discutées.

Mots-clés : Acacia auriculiformis, allocation de la biomasse, équation allométrique, facteur d’expansion de la biomasse, inventaire forestier, tarif de cubage, rotation courte, République démocratique du Congo.


Télécharger
l'article

PRODUCTION DE PLANTS D’ARGANIER (ARGANIA SPINOSA) AU MAROC : CHOIX DU CONTENEUR ET DU SUBSTRAT

A. Ferradous, M. Hafidi, M. Alifriqui, A. Ouhammou

Dans le but d’obtenir des plants d’arganier (Argania spinosa L. Skeels) de bonne qualité en pépinière, huit types de conteneurs et trois substrats hors-sol (compost de branches broyées d’Acacia cyanophylla, compost de déchets d’extraction de graines de Tetraclinis articulata, tourbe commerciale) mélangés avec du terreau forestier dans des proportions différentes ont été testés. L’analyse physico- chimique des substrats a montré que les deux composts produits localement sont les mieux indiqués pour la production de plants d’arganier de bonne qualité. Ces substrats peuvent représenter une alternative aux substrats à base de tourbe, importés et coûteux. Le compost de branches d’Acacia cyanophylla peut être produit de manière satisfaisante pour répondre aux besoins des pépinières forestières locales. L’évolution des paramètres morphologiques et l’analyse effectuée sur les plants après un séjour de sept mois en pépinière ont montré que le conteneur de 400 ml est satisfaisant pour produire des plants d’arganier d’une qualité proche de celle obtenue avec les sachets en polyéthylène de 800 ml. Ces résultats constituent une première étape pour maîtriser les techniques de production de plants dans des conteneurs horssol, pour l’arganier ou d’autres espèces autochtones marocaines. Il conviendrait d’étudier d’autres aspects de la production de plants dans les pépinières marocaines, telles l’irrigation, la fertilisation ou la mycorhization. Des essais de plantation sont envisagés pour confirmer les résultats de cette étude.

Mots-clés : arganier, Argania spinosa, plant, conteneur, substrat, pépinière, compost, tourbe, Maroc.


Télécharger
l'article

DIFFÉRENCE ENTRE LES GÉNÉRATIONS ET GROUPES ETHNIQUES DES CONNAISSANCES TRADITIONNELLES ET DE L’IMPORTANCE CULTURELLE DE LANNEA MICROCARPA ENGL. & K. KRAUSE EN SAVANE SOUDANIENNE AU BÉNIN

E. O. A. Goudégnon, F. G. Vodouhê, G. N. Gouwakinnou, V. K. Salako, M. Oumorou

Connaître l’importance socioculturelle des arbres fruitiers autochtones et des facteurs qui la déterminent est un préalable indispensable à leur valorisation et aux décisions sur leur mode de gestion. La présente étude s’est attachée à documenter les connaissances traditionnelles (CT) et l’importance culturelle (IC) de Lannea microcarpa, arbre fruitier autochtone peu connu et sous-utilisé de la zone soudanienne au Bénin. L’étude s’est également penchée sur les éventuelles variations en termes de CT et de IC selon les groupes ethniques et les générations. Nous avons recueilli des informations sur les utilisations et l’importance de l’essence auprès de 262 personnes sélectionnées de manière aléatoire dans la zone de distribution de l’arbre, à l’aide de listes libres et d’un système de notation. Vingthuit utilisations réparties en huit catégories d’usages ont été recensées, dont 21 médicinales, deux commerciales et une chacune pour l’alimentation humaine, le fourrage, le bois de feu, la construction, l’emballage et les cure-dents. Contrairement au cas des autres catégories d’utilisation, les connaissances traditionnelles liées aux usages pour l’alimentation n’ont pas varié selon les générations ou les groupes ethniques. De plus, les utilisations alimentaires sont culturellement les plus importantes, suivies par les utilisations médicinales. Globalement, le fruit est la partie préférée de l’arbre, et la plus souvent commercialisée. Les problèmes de santé traités à l’aide de L. microcarpa comprennent l’anémie, la diarrhée, la toux, les ulcères, les maux d’estomac et les hémorragies suite aux accouchements. Nos résultats indiquent que la domestication de L. microcarpa devra privilégier le fruit, la partie de l’arbre la plus appréciée. D’autres études pourront ainsi se pencher sur les possibilités de domestication de L. microcarpa en privilégiant ses caractéristiques fruitières et l’amélioration de la production de fruits.

Mots-clés : Lannea microcarpa, connaissances traditionnelles, valorisation des essences fruitières, zone soudanienne, Bénin.


Télécharger
l'article

QUALITÉ ET USAGES DU BOIS DE CINQ ESPÈCES FORESTIÈRES ADAPTÉES À LA PLANTATION À VOCATION DE BOIS D’OEUVRE ET TESTÉES EN GUYANE FRANÇAISE

H. Morel, E. Nicolini, J. Bossu, L. Blanc, J. Beauchêne

Des essais de plantations forestières ont été menés en Guyane française depuis le début des années 1960 sur plus de 138 espèces (70 espèces natives et 68 espèces exotiques). Une étude récente sur la productivité de ces espèces en plantation (projet ForesTreeCulture, 2013-2015) a mis en avant le fort potentiel de production de trois espèces natives (Simarouba amara Aubl., Vochysia tomentosa (G. Mey.) DC., Bagassa guianensis (Aubl.)) et d’une espèce d’Afrique de l’Ouest (Tarrietia utilis Sprague) avec des volumes de bois produits supérieurs à 20 m3/ha/an. Cependant, les propriétés du bois de ces espèces commerciales ne sont connues qu’au travers d’arbres issus de forêt naturelle. Nous présentons les propriétés du bois de ces espèces en conditions de plantation – densité, retrait, élasticité, angle du fil, durabilité – et discutons de leurs potentiels et de leurs usages respectifs futurs. Une autre espèce, Cordia alliodora ((Ruiz et Pavon) Oken), a également été retenue bien qu’elle n’ait pas encore été plantée en Guyane française. Cette espèce, native de Guyane, est bien connue en Amérique latine pour son bois et son fort potentiel de croissance en milieu anthropisé.

Mots-clés : propriétés technologiques, qualité du bois, plantation, Guyane française.


Télécharger
l'article

RÉSUMÉ DE THÈSE
Déterminants de la structure des communautés fongiques dans les forêts de Corse : rôle des perturbations et de la composition forestière

Adrien Taudière

RÉSUMÉ
L’étude de l’écologie des micro-organismes est récente malgré son importance pratique et théorique intrinsèque, mais également son rôle central dans la niche des macro-organismes. Les interactions plantes-champignons, de par leur importance socio-écologique et leur diversité — du mutualisme au parasitisme en passant par le commensalisme —, offrent un modèle judicieux pour étudier l’écologie des communautés de micro-organismes en interaction avec des macro-organismes. À l’aide de techniques de séquençage à haut débit (NGS) et d’analyse des réseaux, nous explorons certains déterminants de la structure des champignons des forêts de Corse à travers trois guildes : les champignons ectomycorhiziens, endophytiques et saprotrophes. Ce travail considère les processus de dispersion, les perturbations (feux et chablis), les facteurs environnementaux (par exemple la profondeur du sol) et les contraintes dérivées de l’interaction avec les hôtes (par exemple la taxinomie). Les assemblages des communautés des différentes guildes présentent des patrons communs qui pourraient être issus de mécanismes identiques. Ainsi, l’ensemble des guildes étudiées présentent des variations fortes à l’échelle des microrégions de Corse et entre forêts ayant des histoires de feux différentes. En revanche, l’importance des différents processus d’assemblage et les échelles spatiales auxquelles ils s’appliquent varient selon les guildes. Nous discutons des implications que suscite ce travail pour les écologues des communautés et pour les gestionnaires d’espaces naturels.

Mots-clés : champignons, mycorhizes, régime de feu, écologie des communautés, chablis, décomposition, Pinus nigra subsp. laricio, forêt mixte, Corse, Méditerranée, France.


Télécharger
l'article

RÉSUMÉ DE THÈSE
Histoire évolutive du complexe Afzelia Smith (Leguminosae - Caesalpinioideae) dans les écosystèmes forestiers et savanicoles d’Afrique tropicale

Segbedji Armel Loïc Donkpegan

RÉSUMÉ
Le genre Afzelia Smith est connu pour comporter sept espèces africaines d’arbres dont deux se retrouvent dans la région zambézienne, une en région soudanienne et les quatre autres en région guinéo-congolaise. Ces taxons, à haute valeur commerciale, sont difficiles à distinguer les uns des autres. Ils sont donc commercialisés sous un même nom : « doussié » ou « afzelia ». Ces difficultés de distinction peuvent s’avérer préjudiciables à la gestion durable des populations. Le but de cette thèse de doctorat est de caractériser l’histoire évolutive du genre Afzelia. Plus spécifiquement, cette étude vise à : (i) évaluer le niveau des divergences morphologiques au sein du genre et décrire les relations phylogénétiques, afin de quantifier l’isolement reproductif entre les taxons d’Afzelia en mettant en évidence le rôle des changements climatiques passés et/ou des gradients écologiques dans la spéciation ; (ii) procéder à une analyse approfondie de la diversité et de la structuration génétique spatiale d’Afzelia spp. ; (iii) identifier et décrire les facteurs écologiques, biotiques et abiotiques susceptibles d’influencer les flux géniques à l’échelle des populations d’une espèce d’Afzelia (A. bipindensis). Une analyse morphogénétique des espèces a été effectuée et a confirmé la forte ressemblance botanique entre les taxons. Les espèces de savane se sont avérées être diploïdes et présentent la moitié de la taille du génome des espèces forestières qui sont donc tétraploïdes. Les phylogénies de gènes, nucléaires et chloroplastiques, diffèrent entre elles. De telles différences peuvent être générées à la suite d’épisodes d’hybridation ancestrale entre espèces. Ces hybridations seraient probablement anciennes et seraient survenues entre les lignées des espèces forestières et celles d’A. quanzensis (une espèce des savanes zambéziennes). La polyploïdie serait survenue entre 7 et 9,4 millions d’années au cours de l’histoire évolutive du genre. De plus, une assignation bayésienne et des analyses d’isolement reproductif ont suggéré l’existence de croisements interspécifiques, mais uniquement chez les espèces forestières distribuées en sympatrie. À une échelle spatiale plus limitée, deux groupes génétiques bien différenciés ont été observés en sympatrie chez A. bipindensis. Ceux-ci présentent une différenciation morphologique et un décalage phénologique de la floraison qui peut contribuer à leur isolement reproductif. Cette étude a permis de mettre en évidence quelques points importants que sont : la découverte d’un complexe polyploïde au sein du genre Afzelia ; la confirmation de la délimitation des espèces diploïdes de savane ; et la nécessité de réviser la taxonomie des espèces tétraploïdes forestières.

Mots-clés : Afzelia spp., phylogénie, phylogéographie, structure et diversité génétique, polyploïdie, flux de gènes, phénologie, savane, forêts tropicales, Afrique tropicale.


Télécharger
l'article



LA RECHERCHE AGRONOMIQUE POUR LE DÉVELOPPEMENT

Informations légales - Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2018
© Cirad 2001 - Contact : bft@cirad.fr