Bois et forêts des tropiques

Abstracts & articles: n° 331
(1st quarter 2017)


All abstracts
(In French, English and Spanish)

New issue

Issue 331


 

HOW HAVE ENVIRONMENTAL CONCEPTS RESHAPED THE AGROFORESTRY CONCEPT?

M. Barisaux

Environmental sciences and concepts have evolved a great deal in the last three decades. This study aims to account for the way environmental concepts have changed and to describe the consequences for the concept of agroforestry. The study is based on a bibliometric analysis carried out on the Web of Science, and summarizes the literature collected on the subject. Examples are given to support the analysis: agroforestry-based coffee-growing in the Western Ghats in India, cocoa in Ivory Coast and jungle rubber in Indonesia. Agroforestry evolved considerably with the emergence of the biodiversity and ecosystem concepts, and conservation science now also covers ecosystems that have been modified by humans. The development of agroforestry can be compared with that of agroecology: a study on the Web of Science shows a similar pattern in the last two decades. Although the recognition of agroecology as a science has introduced new ways of managing agroforestry systems, the way agroforestry has developed and its broad scope of application may have disconnected it somewhat from reality on the ground and from the farmers who actually practice it. Precautions are therefore needed in designing and managing these systems: farmers’ expectations, in contexts that are determined at once by social, economic and political factors, must not be ignored, and agroforestry systems should not be exclusively geared to productivity. Agroforestry cannot evolve as an environmental concept if it is voided of its most fundamental goal, which is to bring sustainable improvements to farming livelihoods.

Keywords: agroforestry, environment, biodiversity, agroecology, conservation, smallholder.


Download
the article

PHYSICAL, MECHANICAL AND NATURAL DURABILITY PROPERTIES OF WOOD FROM REFORESTATION PINUS HALEPENSIS MILL. IN THE MEDITERRANEAN BASIN

M. T. Elaieb, F. Shel, S. Elouellani, T. Janah, M. Rahouti, M.-F. Thévenon, K. Candelier

Pinus halepensis Mill. was introduced into regions with a Mediterranean climate as an ornamental tree, and is now often found in parks and gardens. At present, Aleppo pine (Pinus halepensis Mill.) forests cover approximately 2,500,000 ha in the Mediterranean Basin, mostly at low altitudes (less than 500 m) and along the coast. It has become naturalized outside cities in North Africa to the extent that it is now listed as an invasive species there. Because of its size (over 15 m in height and 30 cm in diameter), Pinus halepensis could be a good potential green resource for structural material in Tunisia. The focus of this study was to assess rot resistance and the physical and mechanical properties of reforestation Aleppo pine from the Mediterranean basin. The Pinus halepensis wood samples studied were collected from 6 tree provenances in Tunisia for physical and mechanical characterization and from Morocco for decay and termite resistance tests. Densities and shrinkage were determined and mechanical and rot resistance tests performed. Preliminary results showed that Tunisian Pinus halepensis wood has great dimensional stability. Although the compressive strength of Pinus halepensis wood is high, its bending strength is rather low for each of the provenances. MOR in bending is lower than in other Tunisian softwood species. Finally, Pinus halepensis sapwood has low resistance to fungi and termites. This timber species could be valuable for furniture and/or as a building material provided that a wood preservation method is applied before it is used.

Keywords: Pinus halepensis, Aleppo Pine, rot resistance, Maghreb reforestation areas, mechanical properties, physical properties, tree stand density.


Download
the article

LOCAL PERCEPTIONS OF INTERACTIONS BETWEEN ELEPHANTS AND BORASSUS AETHIOPUM MART. (ARECACEAE) IN THE PENDJARI NATIONAL PARK IN BENIN

J. S. H. Houndonougbo, V. K. Salako, R. Idohou, F. A. Azihou, A. E. Assogbadjo, R. Glèlè Kakaï

Elephants are reported to have a dramatic impact on woody vegetation in protected areas. Careful control of elephant and wood species populations is therefore crucial to successful biodiversity management in such ecosystems. The perceptions of local people and protected areas managers could very usefully supplement classic ecological surveys and monitoring to achieve this goal. This study assessed the perceptions of managers and local people regarding the causes, damage, consequences and management options of elephant pressure on the declining dioecious palm Borassus aethiopum. The study was conducted in the Pendjari National Park, which is part of the W-Arly-Pendjari transboundary complex of reserves in West Africa. Semi-structured interviews were conducted with 53 respondents belonging to three socio-professional categories: administrators, ecoguards and local professional hunters. Relative frequency of citation and the Pearson correlation were used to assess the consensus and concordance of their perceptions, respectively. The respondents reported a steep increase in the number of elephants in the Pendjari National Park, which they attributed to significant elephant migration from transboundary parks where poaching pressure was perceived as high. This has resulted in high pressure on tree species including B. aethiopum. Despite differences in professional outlook, consensual and concordant opinions were noted among administrators, ecoguards and local professional hunters on the relationship between B. aethiopum and elephants. A regional approach aiming to protect the elephant population (low poaching) in the W-Arly-Pendjari complex and other neighbouring reserves was suggested in order to limit elephant migration.

Keywords: African fan palm, elephant, pressure, reserve managers, savannah, West Africa.


Download
the article

PHYSICAL AND MECHANICAL PROPERTIES OF TEAK WOOD FROM TANZANIAN AND LOCAL PROVENANCES IN BENIN

M. C. Hounlonon, C. A. Kouchade, B. B. Kounouhewa

Teak (Tectona grandis L. f.) is a tropical timber species which is in great demand. In Benin, the two most commonly planted teak varieties are of Tanzanian and local provenances. To contribute to the characterisation of teak from Benin, we determined and compared, for each provenance, the elasticity and shear modulus, height of the bole, the circumference and bark thickness at felling height, the percentage of heartwood, the circumference 1.30 m from the ground and the density of the wood at a 12 % moisture content. The samples were taken in the Lama plantations from trees of 20 to 25 years of age (6 logs of local provenance 4 of Tanzanian provenance). The results obtained with these samples indicate that for this age class, the values for these properties are higher for the local teak than for the Tanzanian teak, except for the percentage of heartwood. Based on our sample, therefore, the local teak wood is of a fair quality that should be enhanced through biological selection or cloning of the specimens best able to adapt not only to climate change but also to soil structure. This would help to promote teak production across the entire country and even the sub-region. However, establishing a hybrid variety that combines the advantages of both provenances could also be a major step towards improving all tree species used in Benin.

Keywords: teak, Tectona grandis, elasticity modulus, shear modulus, Lama, Benin, Tanzania.


Download
the article

MEDICINAL PLANTS IN FOREST STANDS AROUND THE BAY OF RIGNYANTSIRANANA IN MADAGASCAR

S. Rakotonandrasana, A. Rakotondrafara, R. Rakotondrajaona, V. Rasamison, M. Ratsimbason

Ethnobotanical surveys were conducted on the forest stands around the Bay of Rigny-Antsiranana in Madagascar. These stands are key zones for Madagascar’s biodiversity and the main source of supply of useful plants for the local population. The survey covered thirtyeight forest stands of 15 to 80 years of age and was conducted with traditional healers and parents familiar with medicinal plants, either during trips into the forest or by showing them herbarium specimens. The survey method chosen was based on individual semi-structured interviews. Fifty-three medicinal plant species belonging to 50 genera and 28 families were identified. Thirty-eight of these (68.6 %) are endemic to Madagascar. The ten most frequently used species had a high loyalty index for treating the ailments for which they are indicated. Nineteen species had a high loyalty index (> 60 %) for several different ailments. Our respondents associated the largest number of medicinal plants with ailments related to the digestive system (stomach aches and diarrhoea), with non-specific health problems (wounds and fatigue), infections and parasitic diseases (malaria) and puerperal problems, as well as with pregnancy and childbirth. The loyalty indices for Adansonia madagascariensis and Senna alata, used to treat weight loss and high blood pressure respectively, were also high. All these health problems are common in Madagascar. The forest stands around the Bay of Rigny-Antsiranana are a medicinal plant reservoir for Madagascar’s northern region. Local knowledge on these plants is passed on orally and not written, and could be lost. The natural vegetation is under threat from human pressure, and because no conservation plan exists. Studies on the chemistry and pharmacology of these endemic species are essential to protect them and develop their use.

Keywords: ethnobotany, medicinal plants, Bay of Rigny-Antsiranana, Madagascar.


Download
the article

CHEMICAL COMPOSITION AND ETHNOBOTANICAL USES OF ACACIA JACQUEMONTII BENTH. IN THE THAL DESERT IN PAKISTAN

F. Rasool, M. Ishaque, S. Yaqoob, A. Tanveer

This study was conducted in 2014 at the department of botany and the nutritional laboratory of Faisalabad University of Agriculture, in order to assess the chemical composition of Acacia jacquemontii Benth. and its ethnobotanical uses in local communities of the Thal desert in Pakistan. To determine its chemical composition, mature leaves and pods of the species were collected in the field and composite samples were prepared. Their chemical composition was then determined for crude protein, fat, fibre, ash, micro and macro-elements, total phenolics, flavonoids, total tannins, alkaloids and saponin. An interview schedule was developed to assess ethnobotanical uses of A. jacquemontii by local communities for food, shelter and medicine. Thirteen local people and thirteen Hakims involved in traditional uses were interviewed. Our results showed that the leaves and seeds of the species contained respectively 22% and 33% of crude proteins and 49% and 15% of crude fibre. Fats in the leaves and seeds amounted to 17% and 28%. The leaves contained 0.1% phosphorus, 0.6% potassium, 1.2% calcium, 0.1% sodium and 0.6% magnesium and micro-elements: iron (246 ppm), manganese (29.2 ppm), zinc (27.9 ppm) and copper (14.4 ppm). The amounts of alkaloids, flavonoids, saponins, tannins and total phenolics found in the leaves were 5.8, 168, 196, 124 and 137 respectively. Our results for ethnobotanical uses showed that besides using this shrub for shelterbelts, firewood, fodder and medicines, local people have strong religious beliefs, calling A. jacquemontii the ‘shrub of the ghosts’ and believing in its “magic” powers in the practice of necromancy. It was used in the past by Greek practitioners in this area to treat common ailments.

Keywords: chemical compounds, local uses, nutrients, phenolics, Thal desert, Pakistan.


Download
the article



AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH FOR DEVELOPMENT

Legal information - Last update: October 2017
© CIRAD 2001 - Contact: bft@cirad.fr

Bois et forêts des tropiques

Résumés et articles : n° 331
(1e trimestre 2017)


Tous les résumés
(en français, en anglais et en espagnol)

Nouveau numéro

Numéro 331


 

COMMENT LES CONCEPTS ENVIRONNEMENTAUX ONT-ILS REFAÇONNÉ LE CONCEPT AGROFORESTIER ?

M. Barisaux

Les trois dernières décennies ont été les témoins d’une évolution des sciences et des concepts environnementaux. Le but de cet article est de rendre compte de cette évolution et de montrer ses conséquences sur le concept agroforestier. Il repose sur une analyse bibliométrique réalisée via le Web of Science, et dresse une synthèse de la littérature recueillie sur le sujet. Des exemples sont évoqués pour appuyer l’argumentation : le système agroforestier du café dans la région des Western Ghats en Inde, le système agroforestier du cacao en Côte d’Ivoire et le système agroforestier de l’hévéa (jungle rubber) en Indonésie. L’agroforesterie a considérablement évolué avec l’avènement des notions de biodiversité et d’écosystèmes émergents, et la science de la conservation englobe maintenant les écosystèmes modifiés et altérés par l’homme. L’évolution de l’agroforesterie peut ainsi être comparée avec celle de l’agroécologie : une étude à partir du Web of Science montre une évolution similaire sur les deux dernières décennies. La reconnaissance de l’agroécologie en tant que science a apporté de nouvelles méthodes de gestion des systèmes agroforestiers. Cependant, l’agroforesterie, par son évolution et par l’étendue du concept, est peut-être restée trop déconnectée de la réalité du terrain et des paysans qui la pratiquent. Des précautions dans la conception et la gestion de ces systèmes doivent donc être prises : il s’agit de ne pas oublier les attentes des paysans dans des contextes et avec des déterminants à la fois sociaux, économiques et politiques ; ni de s’orienter vers des systèmes exclusivement productivistes. L’agroforesterie ne saurait devenir un concept environnemental si elle se vide de sa substance authentique, vouée à l’amélioration durable du bien-être des paysans.

Mots-clés : agroforesterie, environnement, biodiversité, agroécologie, conservation, paysan.


Télécharger
l'article

PROPRIÉTÉS PHYSIQUES, MÉCANIQUES ET DE DURABILITÉ NATURELLE DU BOIS DE PLANTATION DE PINUS HALEPENSIS Mill. DANS LE BASSIN MÉDITERRANÉEN

M. T. Elaieb, F. Shel, S. Elouellani, T. Janah, M. Rahouti, M.-F. Thévenon, K. Candelier

Le pin d’Alep Pinus halepensis Mill. fut introduit dans les régions à climat méditerranéen comme arbre d’ornement, et se trouve souvent aujourd’hui dans les jardins et espaces verts. Les peuplements de pin d’Alep (Pinus halepensis Mill.) recouvrent aujourd’hui quelque 2 500 000 ha dans le pourtour méditerranéen, généralement à faible altitude (moins de 500 m) et sur les côtes. L’essence s’est naturalisée en dehors des villes du Maghreb à tel point qu’elle y est classée aujourd’hui comme espèce invasive. En raison de ses dimensions (plus de 15 m de hauteur et 30 cm de diamètre), Pinus halepensis pourrait représenter une ressource de bois d’oeuvre intéressante en Tunisie. La présente étude s’est attachée à évaluer la résistance à la pourriture et les propriétés physiques et mécaniques des pins d’Alep de plantation dans le bassin méditerranéen. Les échantillons de bois de Pinus halepensis étudiés ont été prélevés en Tunisie pour les tests de caractérisation physique et mécanique (six provenances) et au Maroc pour les tests de résistance à la pourriture et aux termites. Des tests ont permis de déterminer la densité et la rétraction ainsi que la résistance à la pourriture. Les premiers résultats indiquent que le bois de Pinus halepensis de Tunisie possède une grande stabilité dimensionnelle et une résistance élevée à la compression. Cependant, la résistance à la flexion est assez faible quelle que soit la provenance. Le module de résistance en flexion est plus faible que pour les autres résineux en Tunisie. Enfin, l’aubier du pin d’Alep est peu résistant aux maladies fongiques et aux termites. Cette essence pourrait s’avérer intéressante comme bois d’oeuvre ou pour l’ébénisterie, à condition d’y appliquer un traitement de protection préalable à son emploi.

Mots-clés : Pinus halepensis, pin d’Alep, résistance au pourrissement, zones de reforestation au Maghreb, propriétés mécaniques, propriétés physiques, densité des peuplements.

.


Télécharger
l'article

PERCEPTIONS LOCALES DES INTERACTIONS ENTRE LES ÉLÉPHANTS ET LE PALMIER BORASSUS AETHIOPUM MART. (ARECACEAE) DANS LE PARC NATIONAL DE LA PENDJARI AU BÉNIN

J. S. H. Houndonougbo, V. K. Salako, R. Idohou, F. A. Azihou, A. E. Assogbadjo, R. Glèlè Kakaï

Différents constats indiquent que l’impact des éléphants sur la végétation ligneuse dans les aires protégées devient dramatique. Une gestion durable de la biodiversité dans ces écosystèmes nécessite le respect d’un bon équilibre entre populations d’éléphants et peuplements d’essences ligneuses. Pour y parvenir, les perceptions des habitants et des gestionnaires des aires protégées peuvent éclairer fort utilement les résultats des suivis et inventaires écologiques classiques. La présente étude visait à évaluer les perceptions des gestionnaires et des populations locales quant aux causes, dégâts et conséquences de la pression exercée par les éléphants sur le palmier rônier Borassus aethiopum, actuellement en déclin, ainsi qu’aux options de gestion de cette pression. L’étude a été réalisée dans le Parc National de la Pendjari, une des composantes du complexe de réserves transfrontalières du W-Arly-Pendjari en Afrique de l’Ouest. Des entretiens semi-structurés ont été menés avec 53 personnes issues de trois catégories socioprofessionnelles différentes : administrateurs, écogardes et chasseurs professionnels locaux. La fréquence relative des citations et la corrélation de Pearson nous ont permis d’évaluer, respectivement, le consensus et les concordances des perceptions. Les personnes enquêtées ont fait part d’une forte augmentation du nombre d’éléphants dans la Pendjari, attribuée à une migration significative d’éléphants en provenance des parcs transfrontaliers où la pression du braconnage serait élevée. Cela conduit à une forte pression sur les essences ligneuses, dont B. aethiopum. Malgré les différences professionnelles, des opinions consensuelles et concordantes ont été constatées entre les administrateurs, écogardes et chasseurs professionnels locaux à l’égard des interactions entre éléphants et B. aethiopum. Pour limiter la migration des éléphants, une approche régionale est proposée visant à protéger les populations d’éléphants (réduction du braconnage) du complexe W-Arly- Pendjari et des réserves voisines.

Mots-clés : palmier rônier, Borassus aethiopum, éléphant, pression, gestionnaires de réserve, savane, Afrique de l’Ouest.


Télécharger
l'article

PROPRIÉTÉS PHYSIQUES ET MÉCANIQUES DU BOIS DE TECK DE PROVENANCES TANZANIENNE ET LOCALE AU BÉNIN

M. C. Hounlonon, C. A. Kouchade, B. B. Kounouhewa

Le teck (Tectona grandis L. f.) est une espèce ligneuse tropicale dont le bois est très demandé. Au Bénin, la provenance tanzanienne et la provenance locale sont les deux variétés de cette espèce les plus plantées. Pour contribuer à la caractérisation du bois de teck du Bénin, nous avons déterminé et comparé, pour le bois de chaque provenance, les modules d’élasticité et de cisaillement, la longueur du fût, la circonférence et l’épaisseur d’écorce à hau4eur D’acattage, le pourcentage de bois de coeur, la circonférence à une hauteur de 1,30 m du sol et la masse volumique (ou la densité) à 12 % de teneur en eau. Les échantillons ont été prélevés dans les plantations de la Lama sur des arbres de 20 à 25 ans (six billes de provenance locale et quatre billes de provenance tanzanienne). Les résultats obtenus sur la base de cet échantillon indiquent que, pour cette classe d’âge, les valeurs de ces propriétés pour le bois de teck de provenance locale sont supérieures à celles de la provenance tanzanienne, sauf pour le pourcentage de bois de coeur. Sur la base de notre échantillonnage, le teck de provenance locale semble donc d’une certaine qualité, qu’il faut tendre à valoriser par la sélection biologique ou clonale des meilleurs sujets, aptes à s’adapter non seulement au changement climatique mais aussi aux structures des sols. Cela permettrait de favoriser la production du bois de teck sur toute l’étendue du territoire national, voire de la sous-région. Toutefois, la mise en place d’une variété hybride conciliant les atouts des deux provenances pourrait aussi être une grande avancée dans l’amélioration des essences exploitées au Bénin.

Mots-clés : teck, Tectona grandis, module d’élasticité, module de cisaillement, Lama, Bénin, Tanzanie.


Télécharger
l'article

PLANTES MÉDICINALES DES FORMATIONS VÉGÉTALES DE LA BAIE DE RIGNY-ANTSIRANANA À MADAGASCAR

S. Rakotonandrasana, A. Rakotondrafara, R. Rakotondrajaona, V. Rasamison, M. Ratsimbason

Des enquêtes ethnobotaniques ont été menées dans les formations forestières de la baie de Rigny-Antsiranana à Madagascar. Ces formations forestières sont des zones clés de la biodiversité malgache et constituent la principale source d’approvisionnement des populations locales en plantes utiles. Trente-huit informateurs d’âge compris entre 15 et 80 ans, tradipraticiens, mères et pères de famille et connaissant bien les plantes médicinales, ont été enquêtés en les amenant en forêt ou bien en leur montrant des spécimens d’herbier. La méthode d’enquête individuelle retenue était l’entretien semi-structuré. Cinquante-trois espèces de plantes médicinales réparties dans 50 genres et 28 familles ont été recensées. Trente-huit espèces (68,6 %) sont endémiques de Madagascar. Les dix premières espèces les plus utilisées ont des indices de fidélité élevés pour les maladies indiquées. Dix-neuf espèces ont des indices de fidélité élevés (> 60 %) pour diverses maladies. Les maladies auxquelles les informateurs rattachent le plus grand nombre de plantes médicinales sont les affections du système digestif (maux de ventre et diarrhée), les maladies générales (les plaies et la fatigue), les infections et infestations (le paludisme), tout comme la grossesse, la naissance et la puerpéralité. Les indices de fidélité de Adansonia madagascariensis et Senna alata destinées respectivement à la lutte contre la perte de poids et l’hypertension artérielle sont également élevés. Toutes ces maladies sont fréquentes à Madagascar. Les formations végétales de la baie de Rigny-Antsiranana constituent un réservoir de plantes médicinales pour la région Nord de Madagascar. Les connaissances locales relatives à ces plantes n’ont pas été transcrites mais restent orales et risquent d’être perdues. La végétation naturelle y est menacée par la pression anthropique et l’absence de plan de conservation. Des recherches chimiques et pharmacologiques sur les espèces endémiques, et des mesures de conservation de la végétation, sont nécessaires pour leur valorisation et leur protection.

Mots-clés : ethnobotanique, plantes médicinales, baie de Rigny-Antsiranana, Madagascar.


Télécharger
l'article

COMPOSITION CHIMIQUE ET USAGES ETHNOBOTANIQUES DE ACACIA JACQUEMONTII BENTH. DANS LE DÉSERT DE THAL AU PAKISTAN

F. Rasool, M. Ishaque, S. Yaqoob, A. Tanveer

Cette étude s’est déroulée en 2014 à la Faculté de botanique et au Laboratoire de nutrition de l’Université agricole de Faisalabad, pour évaluer la composition chimique de l’arbuste Acacia jacquemontii Benth. et ses usages ethnobotaniques parmi les communautés du désert de Thal au Pakistan. Des échantillons composites de feuilles matures et de gousses recueillies sur le terrain ont été préparés afin d’en déterminer la composition en protéines brutes, matières grasses, fibres, cendres, micro- et macro-éléments, composés phénoliques totaux, flavonoïdes, tannins totaux, alcaloïdes et saponine. Un protocole d’enquête a été élaboré pour évaluer les utilisations ethnobotaniques (alimentation, abris et médicaments) de A. jacquemontii par les communautés locales. Des entretiens ont eu lieu avec treize membres des communautés locales et treize praticiens traditionnels Hakim utilisant la plante. Nos résultats indiquent les teneurs suivantes pour les feuilles et les graines de l’essence : 22 % et 33 % de protéines brutes ; 49 % et 15 % de fibres brutes ; 17 % and 28 % de matières grasses. Les feuilles contiennent 0,1 % de phosphore, 0,6 % de potassium, 1,2 % de calcium, 0,1 % de sodium et 0,6 % de magnésium. Les teneurs en micro-éléments s’établissent à 246 ppm pour le fer, 29,2 ppm pour le manganèse, 27,9 ppm pour le zinc et 14,4 ppm pour le cuivre. Les teneurs en alcaloïdes, flavonoïdes, saponines, tannins et composés phénoliques totaux dans les feuilles s’établissent à 5,8, 168, 196, 124 et 137 respectivement. Nos résultats ethnobotaniques indiquent qu’au-delà des utilisations de l’essence comme brise-vent et pour le bois de feu, le fourrage et les médicaments, les communautés locales, très croyantes, appellent A. jacquemontii « l’arbre des esprits » et sont convaincues de ses vertus « magiques » dans la pratique de la nécromancie. La plante était autrefois utilisée dans la région par des praticiens grecs dans le traitement de maladies banales.

Mots-clés : composés chimiques, utilisations locales, substances nutritives, composés phénoliques, désert de Thal, Pakistan.


Télécharger
l'article



LA RECHERCHE AGRONOMIQUE POUR LE DÉVELOPPEMENT

Informations légales - Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2017
© Cirad 2001 - Contact : bft@cirad.fr