Bois et forêts des tropiques

Abstracts & articles: n░ 330
(4th quarter 2016)


All abstracts
(In French, English and Spanish)

New issue

Issue 330


 

SEASONAL VARIATIONS IN DIAMETER GROWTH AND LEAF AND REPRODUCTIVE PHENOLOGY IN THREE CENTRAL AFRICAN COMMERCIAL TIMBER SPECIES

F. FÚtÚkÚ, A. Fayolle, K. Dainou, N. Bourland, A. DiÚ, P. Lejeune, J.-L. Doucet, H. Beeckman

The intra-annual rhythms of diameter growth is known for only a very few tropical African timber species. For this study, we used several methods in combination ľ sequential cambium marking, anatomical analysis and growth ring measurements ľ to determine the periodicity and variations of diameter growth in three Central African tree species producing very high quality timber: Baillonella toxisperma (Moabi), Entandrophragma cylindricum (Sapelli) and Erythrophleum suaveolens (Tali). We also sought to identify interactions between climate and foliar and reproductive phenology. All three species have anatomically distinct annual growth rings that form as the season advances, reaching their maximum rate of growth during the short rainy season (March to May). The seasonal variations in growth rates proved to be significant in Moabi and Sapelli and not significant in Tali. The climate parameters with a determining role in these variations were temperature and hours of sunshine. The dendrochronological analysis opened up interesting prospects for the long-term acquisition of the growth data needed to define parameters for the management of natural stands of these species.

Keywords: Baillonella toxisperma, Entandrophragma cylindricum, Erythrophleum suaveolens, growth, cambium activity, phenology, seasonal growth ring development, semi-deciduous forest, Central Africa.


Download
the article

ASSESSMENT OF COLOUR VARIATIONS IN PISTACIA ATLANTICA DESF. WOOD FROM NORTHERN ALGERIA

M. Boudouaya, H. Benhassaini, F. Z. Bendimered-Mouri, F. Mothe, M. Fournier

Among the characteristic properties of timber from natural tree stands, particularly those in arid and semi-arid zones, variations in colour are decisive in the uses made of the wood as a high added- value visible material, in joinery and cabinet-making for example. This study was conducted to help promote the aesthetic value of a woody species which is common in Algeria but under-researched, the Mt. Atlas mastic tree, Pistacia atlantica Desf. Variations in wood colour were assessed from samples cut from the sapwood and heartwood of mastic trees from two different bioclimatic regions in north-western Algeria. The colour assessments were made at the Forest and Timber Resources Laboratory (LERFoB) in Nancy, France, using a spectrophotometer with measurement and display software. The results indicate variations between the two regions in the colour of Mt. Atlas mastic tree wood (for the three chromatic components L*, a* and b*) and among the different trees (component L*). The colorimetric components of the lighter-coloured sapwood, especially brightness (L*) and the red-green component (a*), are very different to those of the heartwood. From this we infer that environmental factors have an influence on the colorimetric characteristics of the wood in this species, as well as the intrinsic individual characteristics of each tree. Finally, brightness (L*) and the red-green (a*) and blue-yellow (b*) components vary between the different types of mastic tree wood.

Keywords: Pistacia atlantica Desf., transition zone, CIELab, colour space, heartwood, sapwood, north-western Algeria.


Download
the article

ASSESSMENT OF TEAK PRODUCTION CHARACTERISTICS USING 1 M SPACING IN A PLANTATION IN NICARAGUA

P. Haninec, P. Maděra, M. Smola, H. Habrová, M. Šenfeldr, L. Úradníček, M. Rajnoch, J. Pavliš, J. Cafourek, K. Novosadová, R. Šmudla

This investigation was carried out in a forestry plantation in Central America, near the city of Diriamba in Nicaragua, where 48.9 ha of a 76.5 ha afforested area has been repeatedly planted with teak since 2006 (2006: 7.90 ha; 2007: 13.63 ha; 2008: 11.93 ha; 2009: 12.87 ha; 2010: 21.70 ha). This plantation is unusual because of the unique 1x1 m spacing of the teak trees and the limiting ecological factors of this arid tropical zone. The aim of the 1x1m spacing was to promote the growth of tall teak stems, inhibit branching to prevent the formation of a wide crown and begin production from the first thinning with teak poles, which are suitable for some types of construction. In 2011, experimental plots were established and the growth parameters (height and circumference) of teaks in the plantation were measured. Additional data were recorded, such as mortality, or twisted and snapped trees. A field methodology was designed and the growth results recorded were formatted into tables and charts. Based on the measurements made in the experimental plots marked out in the plantation, a statistical assessment of the growth parameters was conducted. Teak seedlings planted in the same years were compared according to provenance in terms of height, circumference, yields and mortality. Altogether, 10,955 trees in 143 experimental plots were measured. The stands were 1 to 5 years of age, the total calculated growing stock was 1,287.89 m3, the mean wood mass per hectare was 17.89 m3, with a mean stand height of 3.03 m and mean DBH of 2.74 cm. Snapped trees amounted to 5.64%, twisted trees to 5.66% and mean mortality was 21.48%.

Keywords: Tectona, teak, plantation, Nicaragua.


Download
the article

EFFECTS OF NANO-SILANE ON THE PHYSICAL AND MECHANICAL PROPERTIES OF ORIENTED STRAND LUMBER (OSL)

H. R. Taghiyari, Sadegh Maleki, Vahid Hassani

The effects of resin content and nano-silane (NS) compounds on oriented strand lumber (OSL), an important engineered wood product, were studied here. OSL panels were produced using two different urea-formaldehyde (UF) resin contents of 8% and 10%, based on the dry weight of the wood strips; two NS contents were applied based on the UF resin content. Our results show that treatments with the two different resin contents produce very similar values for modulus of rupture (MOR), modulus of elasticity (MOE), impact bending (IB), and tensile strength (TS). This revealed that the high compactness of strips in the OSL matrix was the predominant factor determining the overall mechanical properties of the composite panels. The interaction between NS and UF-resin significantly reduced these properties with most treatments at 10% NS, while 20% NS was enough to contribute actively to the process of binding the strips together and compensated for part of the loss. Cluster analysis indicated that the mechanical properties were generally dependent on the compactness of the composite matrix rather than on the resin content. Based on these findings, the study concluded that NS is not to be recommended to the industry because of its negative effects on most physical and mechanical properties in OSL panels.

Keywords: nano-materials, oriented strand lumber (OSL), particleboard, silane compounds, wood-composite, zycosil , Iran.


Download
the article

EFFECTS OF ECTOMYCORRHIZAL INOCULATION ON GROWTH AND NUTRITION OF ATLAS CEDAR NURSERY SEEDLINGS IN ALGERIA

H. Gaba-Chahboub, M. S. Lamhamedi, O. Abrous-Belbachir

Mycorrhizal inoculation of Atlas cedar seedlings in tree nurseries is one of the recommended technics for improving the survival and growth of trees in reforestation sites. However, most trials have not succeeded in obtaining high rates of mycorrhization in seedlings inoculated with spores. The aim of this study was to determine the influence of sporal inoculum from three species of ectomycorrhizal fungi, Cortinarius cedretorum, Amanita vaginata and Inocybe geophylla, on the growth and mineral nutrition of Cedrus atlantica seedlings. The carpophores, seeds and organic forest soils used to produce the seedlings were taken from beneath a pure stand of Atlas cedar. The sporal inoculum was made up of crushed and sieved carpophores. The different growth parameters were assessed after 12 months of culturing: seedling height, length of the main root, number of fine roots, mycorrhization rate, total biomass, number of mycorrhized root tips and concentrations of mineral elements in the leaves. Mycorrhization rates for the three fungi species assessed ranged from 55% to 65%, which is exceptionally high for Atlas cedars inoculated with spores. The results show that inoculation with these three ectomycorrhizal fungi significantly increases leaf concentrations of phosphorus and nitrogen. Total biomass of the Atlas cedar seedlings was significantly higher with these three inocula than in the control seedlings.

Keywords: Cedrus atlantica, sporal inoculum, mycorrhization, growth, mineral nutrition, Algeria.


Download
the article

USING DRONE TECHNOLOGY TO MAP VILLAGE LANDS IN PROTECTED AREAS OF THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

J. Semeki Ngabinzeke, J. Linchant, S. Quevauvillers, J.-M. Kahindo Muhongya, P. Lejeune, C. Vermeulen

Protected areas of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) are under threat from various human pressures that need to be monitored accurately and on a regular basis. A small Falcon drone mounted with a Sony NEX-7 camera was used for mapping missions to track the dynamics of village lands in the Mondo Missa Game Reserve, which lies along the eastern border of Garamba National Park in north- eastern DRC. The mapping missions collected a total of 3,143 photos taken in April and July 2015, covering an area of 114 ha with a ground resolution of 8 cm/ pixel. The images were then ortho-rectified, and the resulting ortho-images segmented. The segments were then classified manually by photo-interpretation. Significant changes had occurred between the two periods: 6.5 ha of natural forest and savannah had been lost (declining from 86.6 to 80.1 ha), fallow areas had increased from 16.9 to 8.2 ha and cleared land from 4.1 to 10.0 ha. The variations in seasonal crop areas ranged from 3.2 to 11.8 ha. The average size of cultivated plots was 0.2 ha (s = 0.14 ha, n=50). Finally, the area covered by isolated trees had increased very slightly (from 1.3 to 1.9 ha) while the area occupied by human settlements remained constant (1.7 ha). These results show that the expansion of itinerant slash-and-burn cultivation results in the conversion of natural habitats and modifies plant communities. Unmanned aerial systems can thus help to produce accurate maps and undertake rapid monitoring of small-scale land use changes in protected areas in tropical forests and savannah. They offer an efficient solution for assessments of deforestation and degradation in areas used by local communities. Such assessments are an issue of considerable importance in the REDD+ process, which is aiming to quantify these changes accurately.

Keywords: village lands, land use, itinerant slash-and-burn cultivation, detection of changes, habitat conversion, fragmentation, drone, protected areas, Democratic Republic of Congo.


Download
the article



AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH FOR DEVELOPMENT

Legal information - Last update: June 2017
© CIRAD 2001 - Contact: bft@cirad.fr

Bois et forêts des tropiques

Résumés et articles : n° 330
(4e trimestre 2016)


Tous les résumés
(en français, en anglais et en espagnol)

Nouveau numéro

Numéro 330


 

VARIATIONS SAISONNIÈRES DE LA CROISSANCE DIAMÉTRIQUE ET DES PHÉNOLOGIES FOLIAIRE ET REPRODUCTIVE DE TROIS ESPÈCES LIGNEUSES COMMERCIALES D’AFRIQUE CENTRALE

F. Fétéké, A. Fayolle, K. Dainou, N. Bourland, A. Dié, P. Lejeune, J.-L. Doucet, H. Beeckman

La rythmicité intra-annuelle de la croissance diamétrique des arbres n’est connue que pour très peu d’espèces tropicales africaines. Dans cet article, une combinaison de méthodes expérimentant le marquage cambial séquentiel, l’analyse anatomique et la mesure des cernes a été utilisée pour déterminer la périodicité et les variations de la croissance diamétrique de trois espèces d’Afrique centrale produisant un bois d’oeuvre de grande qualité : Baillonella toxisperma (moabi), Entandrophragma cylindricum (sapelli) et Erythrophleum suaveolens (tali). En outre, des interactions avec la phénologie foliaire et reproductive et le climat ont été recherchées. Pour les trois espèces, les cernes de croissance sont anatomiquement distincts, annuels et se forment au rythme des saisons, avec un accroissement qui est maximal pendant la petite saison pluvieuse (de mars à mai). Les variations saisonnières de la croissance se sont avérées significatives pour le moabi et le sapelli et non significatives pour le tali. Les paramètres climatiques jouant un rôle déterminant dans ces variations sont la température et l’ensoleillement. L’analyse dendrochronologique dresse d’intéressantes perspectives en vue d’acquérir des données de croissance sur le long terme, nécessaires à la définition des paramètres de gestion des populations naturelles de ces espèces.

Mots-clés : Baillonella toxisperma, Entandrophragma cylindricum, Erythrophleum suaveolens, croissance, activité cambiale, phénologie, saisonnalité des cernes, forêt semi-caducifoliée, Afrique centrale.


Télécharger
l'article

ÉVALUATION DE LA VARIABILITÉ DE LA COULEUR DU BOIS DE PISTACIA ATLANTICA DESF. DU NORD DE L’ALGÉRIE

M. Boudouaya, H. Benhassaini, F. Z. Bendimered-Mouri, F. Mothe, M. Fournier

Parmi les propriétés caractérisant le bois des essences naturelles et particulièrement celles des zones arides et semi-arides, la variabilité de la couleur conditionne leur utilisation en tant que matériau apparent de haute valeur ajoutée, en menuiserie-ébénisterie, par exemple. Les travaux présentés ici ont pour but de contribuer à la valorisation esthétique du bois d’une espèce ligneuse répandue en Algérie mais très peu étudiée, le pistachier de l’Atlas, Pistacia atlantica Desf. La variabilité de la couleur a été évaluée sur des éprouvettes de bois coupées dans l’aubier et le duramen d’arbres provenant de deux régions différentes du point de vue bioclimatique en Algérie nord-occidentale. L’évaluation de la couleur du bois a été effectuée au sein du Laboratoire d’étude des ressources forêt-bois (LERFoB) à Nancy, France, en utilisant un spectrocolorimètre et un logiciel pour la mesure et l’affichage des données. Les résultats obtenus indiquent la présence de variation de la couleur du bois du pistachier de l’Atlas entre les deux régions (pour les trois composantes chromatiques, L*, a* et b*) et entre les arbres (pour la composante L*). L’aubier, avec son bois plus clair, présente des composantes colorimétriques, particulièrement la clarté (L*) et la composante vert-rouge (a*), très différentes de celles du duramen. Nous en déduisons que les facteurs du milieu ont une influence sur les caractéristiques colorimétriques du bois de cette espèce, en plus des caractéristiques individuelles intrinsèques de chaque arbre. Enfin, la clarté L* et les composantes vert-rouge a* et bleu-jaune b* présentent des variations entre les différents types de bois de pistachier.

Mots-clés : Pistacia atlantica Desf., zone de transition, CIELab, espace colorimétrique, duramen, aubier, Algérie nord-occidentale.

.


Télécharger
l'article

ÉVALUATION DES CARACTÉRISTIQUES DE PRODUCTION DE TECK AVEC ESPACEMENT DE 1 M X 1 M DANS UNE PLANTATION AU NICARAGUA

P. Haninec, P. Maděra, M. Smola, H. Habrová, M. Šenfeldr, L. Úradníček, M. Rajnoch, J. Pavliš, J. Cafourek, K. Novosadová, R. Šmudla

Cette étude s’est déroulée dans une plantation forestière en Amérique centrale, proche de la ville de Diriamba au Nicaragua, où des plantations de teck sur 48,9 ha, dans une zone de reboisement de 76,5 ha, sont renouvelées depuis 2006 (2006 : 7,90 ha ; 2007 : 13,63 ha ; 2008 : 11,93 ha ; 2009 : 12,87 ha ; 2010 : 21,70 ha). Cette plantation sort de l’ordinaire du fait de l’espacement de 1 x 1 m des arbres et des facteurs écologiques limitants de cette zone tropicale aride. L’espacement de 1 x 1 m a été choisi pour favoriser la croissance en hauteur et obtenir ainsi des tiges de haute taille, et pour limiter les ramifications afin d’éviter la formation de houppiers importants. Cela permet de démarrer une production de poteaux de teck, adaptés à certaines constructions, dès la première coupe d’éclaircissement. Les paramètres de croissance des tecks (hauteur, circonférence) ont été mesurés dans les placettes expérimentales mises en place en 2011. Des données complémentaires (mortalité, arbres cassés ou tordus) ont également été relevées. Une méthodologie de terrain a été développée et les résultats restitués sous forme de tableaux et graphiques. Une évaluation statistique des paramètres de croissance a été menée à partir des mesures prises sur les placettes expérimentales délimitées dans la plantation. Les jeunes arbres plantés la même année ont été comparés selon leur provenance en termes de hauteur, de circonférence, de productivité et de mortalité. Au total, 10 955 arbres sur 143 placettes ont été mesurés. Sur ces peuplements de 1 à 5 ans d’âge, le bois sur pied total est estimé à 1 287,89 m3, la masse moyenne de bois à l’hectare à 17,89 m3, la hauteur moyenne des peuplements à 3,03 m et la circonférence moyenne à hauteur de poitrine à 2,74 cm. Les arbres cassés représentent 5,64 %, les arbres tordus 5,66 % et la mortalité moyenne s’établit à 21,48 %.

Mots-clés : Tectona, teck, plantation, Nicaragua.


Télécharger
l'article

EFFETS DU NANO-SILANE SUR LES PROPRIÉTÉS PHYSIQUES ET MÉCANIQUES DES PANNEAUX STRUCTURAUX ORIENTÉS (OSB)

H. R. Taghiyari, Sadegh Maleki, Vahid Hassani

Cette étude s’est penchée sur les effets de la teneur en résine et en composés de nano-silane (NS) sur les panneaux structuraux orientés (OSB), un important produit en bois reconstitué. Des panneaux OSB ont été fabriqués avec de la résine d’urée-formaldéhyde (UF) à 8 % et à 10 % (sur poids sec des panneaux), avec application de NS à deux teneurs en fonction de la teneur en résine UF. Nos résultats montrent que les traitements aux deux teneurs différentes en résine donnent des valeurs très proches pour les modules de rupture et d’élasticité, la flexion au choc et la résistance à la traction. Cela indique que la compacité élevée des lamelles de la matrice OSB est le facteur déterminant des propriétés mécaniques globales des panneaux composites. L’interaction entre NS et résine UF affaiblit significativement ces propriétés dans la plupart des cas de traitement à 10 % NS, alors que le dosage de NS à 20 % est suffisant pour contribuer activement au processus de collage des lamelles et compense les pertes en partie. L’analyse par cluster indique que les propriétés mécaniques sont généralement davantage fonction de la compacité de la matrice composite que de la teneur en résine. Dès lors, l’étude conclut que le NS n’est pas à recommander à l’industrie en raison de ses effets négatifs sur la plupart des propriétés physiques et mécaniques des panneaux OSB.

Mots-clés : nanomatériaux, panneaux structuraux orientés (OSB), panneaux de particules, composé de silane, bois composite, Zycosil, Iran.


Télécharger
l'article

EFFET DE L’INOCULATION ECTOMYCORHIZIENNE EN PÉPINIÈRE SUR LA CROISSANCE ET LA NUTRITION DES PLANTS DU CÈDRE DE L’ATLAS EN ALGÉRIE

H. Gaba-Chahboub, M. S. Lamhamedi, O. Abrous-Belbachir

La mycorhization des plants du cèdre de l’Atlas en pépinière figure parmi les approches préconisées pour améliorer la survie et la croissance des plants en site de reboisement. Cependant, la majorité des travaux n’ont pas pu obtenir des taux de mycorhization élevés lorsque les plants du cèdre de l’Atlas étaient inoculés par des spores. L’objectif de cette étude est de déterminer l’influence de l’inoculum sporal de trois champignons ectomycorhiziens, Cortinarius cedretorum, Amanita vaginata et Inocybe geophylla, sur la croissance et la nutrition minérale des plantules de Cedrus atlantica. Les carpophores, les semences et le sol forestier organique utilisés pour la production des plants ont été prélevés sous un peuplement pur de cèdre de l’Atlas. L’inoculum sporal était constitué de carpophores broyés et tamisés. Après 12 mois de mise en culture, les différents paramètres de croissance ont été évalués : hauteur du plant, longueur de la racine principale, nombre de racines fines, taux de mycorhization, biomasse totale, nombre d’apex mycorhizés et concentrations foliaires des éléments minéraux. Les taux de mycorhization pour les trois champignons évalués ont varié entre 55 % et 65 %, ce qui est un résultat exceptionnel dans le cas de l’inoculation des plants du cèdre de l’Atlas à l’aide des spores. Les résultats ont montré que l’inoculation avec les trois champignons ectomycorhiziens augmente significativement les concentrations foliaires de phosphore et d’azote. La biomasse des plantules du cèdre de l’Atlas est significativement supérieure avec les trois inocula comparativement aux plantules témoins.

Mots-clés : Cedrus atlantica, inoculum sporal, mycorhization, croissance, nutrition minérale, Algérie.


Télécharger
l'article

CARTOGRAPHIE DE LA DYNAMIQUE DE TERROIRS VILLAGEOIS À L’AIDE D’UN DRONE DANS LES AIRES PROTÉGÉES DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DÉMOCRATIQUE DU CONGO

J. Semeki Ngabinzeke, J. Linchant, S. Quevauvillers, J.-M. Kahindo Muhongya, P. Lejeune, C. Vermeulen

Les aires protégées de la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) sont menacées par diverses pressions anthropiques nécessitant un suivi fréquent et précis. Le mini-drone Falcon équipé d’un appareil photo numérique Sony NEX-7 a été utilisé pour cartographier et suivre la dynamique d’un terroir villageois dans le Domaine de chasse de Mondo Missa à l’est du Parc national de la Garamba, au nord-est de la RDC. Un total de 3 143 photos acquises en avril et juillet 2015, avec une résolution au sol de 8 cm/pixel, a été orthorectifié. La cartographie a porté sur une zone de 114 ha. Les ortho-images ont d’abord été segmentées, les segments étant ensuite classés manuellement par photo-interprétation. Des changements notables ont été constatés entre les deux dates. Les zones des forêts et savanes ont perdu 6,5 ha (86,6 à 80,1 ha). Les jachères sont passées de 16,9 à 8,2 ha, les défriches de 4,1 à 10,0 ha. Les cultures saisonnières ont connu une variation allant de 3,2 à 11,8 ha. La taille moyenne des parcelles cultivées est de 0,2 ha (s = 0,14 ha ; n = 50). Enfin, la surface occupée par les arbres isolés a peu évolué (de 1,3 à 1,9 ha), celle des implantations humaines étant constante (1,7 ha). Ces résultats traduisent le fait que l’expansion de l’agriculture itinérante sur brûlis induit une conversion des habitats naturels et une modification de la composition végétale. Les aéronefs sans pilote à bord permettent de réaliser une cartographie précise et une surveillance rapide des changements d’affectation des terres à petite échelle dans les aires protégées des forêts et savanes tropicales. Ils offrent donc une solution efficace pour évaluer la déforestation et la dégradation au sein des espaces occupés par les communautés locales. Cette évaluation représente un enjeu important dans le processus REDD+ qui envisage de quantifier avec précision ces évolutions.

Mots-clés : terroir villageois, utilisation des terres, agriculture itinérante sur brûlis, détection des changements, conversion de l’habitat, fragmentation, drone, aires protégées, République démocratique du Congo.


Télécharger
l'article



LA RECHERCHE AGRONOMIQUE POUR LE DÉVELOPPEMENT

Informations légales - Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2017
© Cirad 2001 - Contact : bft@cirad.fr