Bois et forêts des tropiques

Abstracts & articles: n° 329
(3rd quarter 2016)


All abstracts
(In French, English and Spanish)

New issue

Issue 329


 

RADIAL GROWTH AND SENSITIVITY TO CLIMATE OF THE MOUNT ATLAS MASTIC TREE, PISTACIA ATLANTICA DESF., IN ALGERIA

N. Ifticene-Habani, M. Messaoudene

Few studies have been made of the Mount Atlas mastic tree, Pistacia atlantica Desf., despite its importance as part of Algeria’s steppe and desert ecosystems (Ahaggar: central Sahara). The species is of particular ecological and biogeographical interest as its association with other characteristic species of arid and semi-arid Saharan habitats point to a high degree of resistance to global changes, especially climate change. The question addressed here is to understand how this tree species is responding to climate change along an aridity gradient. A dendro-ecological study was undertaken to identify the climatic factors governing radial growth in the species. Using this approach makes it possible to identify the relationships, at different scales in space and time, between climate variability and the variability of radial growth in the Mount Atlas mastic tree. The tree’s response to extreme climatic events was investigated through analyses of characteristic years. Four populations in two different regions were analysed: the high steppes around Djelfa and the pre-Saharan region around Béchar. The analysis showed that characteristic years are highly dependent on both average annual precipitation and average annual temperature. Years with high growth are the wetter years, while years with low growth are the drier years. The response of the Mount Atlas mastic tree to wide climate variability is reflected in high values for the average sensitivity coefficient. Response function analysis shows the importance of precipitation in the radial growth of the species, and the lesser importance of temperature under conditions that vary with the biotope.

Keywords: Pistacia atlantica, arid climate, radial growth, dendro-ecology, Mount Atlas mastic tree, Saharan climate.


Download
the article

EFFECTS OF STATION-SPECIFIC FACTORS ON RADIAL GROWTH AND RESPONSES TO CLIMATE IN ALEPPO PINES IN ALGERIA’S OUARSENIS RANGE

M. Sarmoum, F. Guibal, F. Abdoun

The relationships between climate and radial growth from 1967 to 2010 in nine Aleppo pine stands in the Ouarsenis range (north-western Algeria) were studied according to station-specific factors (substrate, altitude, exposure and age of the trees) using dendro-chronological methods, with an analysis of interannual variations in the thickness of growth rings. A retrospective analysis of radial growth showed high interannual variability in growth ring thickness within the same stand. The statistical parameters calculated showed highly variable radial growth between the different stands, which was related to station-specific factors and to tree age. Average growth ring thickness and persistence declined with the age of the trees. Average sensitivity to climate tended to be greater in trees growing on sandstone or schist substrates than on limestone. Our analysis of the relationships between climate and growth rings shows that the Aleppo pine is responsive to precipitation before or during the formation of growth rings. Higher temperatures, especially when they reach their maximum, have a negative effect on radial growth. The relationships between Aleppo pines and climatic conditions are modulated by station-specific factors, especially the substrate. The most responsive stands tend to be growing on a sandstone substrate. These results provide a useful description to help understand the ecological flexibility of the Aleppo pine and how it responds to climate change, with a view to proposing better ways of protecting pine forests that have been under threat for several decades.

Keywords: Pinus halepensis, station-specific factors, radial growth, relationships between growth rings and climate, drought, Ouarsenis.


Download
the article

SOCIOCULTURAL AND ENVIRONMENTAL BENEFITS FROM FAMILY ORCHARDS IN THE CENTRAL HIGHLANDS OF MEXICO

J. C. García Flores, J. G. Gutiérrez Cedillo, M. Á. Balderas Plata, M. R. Araújo Santana

The aim of this study was to analyze perceptions of agroecosystems in terms of their sociocultural and environmental benefits among owners of family orchards in the State of Mexico’s ecological transition zone. A 3-stage methodology was used: 1) geographic characterization of localities and agroecosystems; 2) analysis of social benefits from orchards; 3) analysis of the potential of family orchards and problems encountered. The investigation was conducted in twelve localities belonging to three municipalities in the State of Mexico, using semi-structured interviews complemented by direct observations in the field. Family orchards provide multiple social, environmental, ecological and cultural benefits: they contribute to the wellbeing of families as a rich source of edibles, condiments and ceremonial plants for home consumption, sale or barter. These orchards are also used for small-scale animal breeding as well as for fuelwood, building materials, fencing materials and ornaments. Family orchards should therefore be considered as important agroecosystems, in the knowledge that they function through complex relationships between all their components. The sociocultural and environmental benefits provided by these productive multifunctional agroecosystems could make important contributions to social cohesion and food security strategies for rural families, while also helping to preserve the region’s natural resources.

Keywords: family orchards, sociocultural benefits, rural families, environmental benefits, agroecosystems, Mexico.


Download
the article

SURVIVAL OF SWIETENIA MACROPHYLLA SEEDS SOWN IN SLASH-AND-BURN FIELDS IN QUINTANA ROO, MEXICO

P. Negreros-Castillo, I. Martínez-Salazar, K. F. Kellner, C. W. Mize, R. K. Swihart, M. A. Navarro-Martínez

In tropical America, regeneration of bigleaf mahogany, Swietenia macrophylla King, the most important commercial tree species, is problematic because of its fruiting and dispersal characteristics, very low tolerance of shade and response to logging. In Quintana Roo, Mexico, abandoned slash-and-burn cropfields are excellent candidates for seedling establishment, but an efficient way to establish mahogany seedlings has not been identified. This study assessed the probability of predation on directly sown mahogany seeds, examining the effects of three treatments (four types of seed protection, two sowing methods, two times of day for sowing). The mean percentage of seeds either partially consumed or removed during a 12-hour period varied from 1.1 to 7.7% among the four seed protection treatments and did not differ between the two sowing methods. Precipitation had an important positive effect on survival, and minimum daily temperature had a marginal negative effect on survival. The Julian calendar date had a positive effect on seed survival. Seed predation did not differ among the seed protection treatments that allowed access only to rodents, only to insects, and to both types of seed predators, and predation was greater with these three treatments than with the no-access treatment. Seed predation was not influenced by the time of day of sowing. Direct sowing offers a good option for regenerating mahogany, especially if the mahogany seeds are soaked for at least 2 weeks before sowing to reduce predation risks and increase prospects for seed survival and seedling establishment.

Keywords: Swietenia macrophylla, mahogany, regeneration, silviculture, tropical forest, seed predation, Mexico.


Download
the article

ECOLOGICAL DIVERSITY AND CONSERVATION OF WILD EDIBLE FRUIT TREE SPECIES IN THE LAMA FOREST RESERVE IN BENIN

S. Agbahoungba, A. E. Assogbadjo, F. J. Chadare, R. Idohou, V. K. Salako, E. E. Agoyi, R. L. Gièlè Kakaï

Understanding interactions between forests and neighbouring human communities is crucial to participative management of forest resources. This study aimed to determine the ecological diversity of wild edible fruit tree (WEFT) species in the Lama Forest Reserve, a protected area in southern Benin, and strategies for their conservation. An inventory of WEFT species was carried out in 53 systematically delimited plots in typical dense forest, degraded dense forest and young and old fallows in the Lama Forest Reserve. An ethnobotanical survey was conducted with 136 respondents and the WEFT species habitats were identified by applying a Simple Correspondence Analysis to the density data. A list of priority species was generated using the Compound Ranking System method. The results revealed ten WEFT species, including Dialium guineense, Diospyros mespiliformis, Drypetes floribunda, Mimusops andogensis and Pterocarpus santalinoides in typical dense forest; Pancovia bijuga, Psidium guajava and Lecaniodiscus cupanioides in degraded dense forest; and Ficus capensis and Spondias mombin in fallows. Unlike the other species, the average density of D. guineense, D. mespiliformis, D. floribunda, L. cupanioides and M. andongensis varied significantly (P < 0.01) from one vegetation type to another. The WEFT species recorded were mainly used for food and medicinal purposes. Top priority species for conservation were P. guajava, S. mombin, F. capensis, P. santalinoides and P. bijuga. More protection efforts should target the degraded dense forest and fallow areas to ensure the conservation of these species. Further, priority WEFT species need to be included in plantation programmes to reduce pressure from riparian populations.

Keywords: conservation, Lama forest reserve, diversity, wild edible fruit tree.


Download
the article

TIMBER EXPORTS FROM CAMEROON TO CHAD: COMMERCIALLY SUCCESSFUL, LEGALLY QUESTIONABLE

G. Lescuyer, M. Tal

The scale and the means allotted to imports of sawn wood into Chad from Cameroon are little documented. Two surveys were carried out to produce an up-to-date diagnosis of the trade: sawn wood flows were monitored at N’Djamena and Moundou from July to December 2015, and interviews were conducted with 16 people to characterise the import and customs clearance processes in use for timber from Cameroon. According to our survey results, 79,000 m3. of timber entered Chad from Cameroon during the monitoring period, so that the annual total probably amounts to about 210,000 m3. This is more than double the figure estimated in 2009. Virtually all of the timber imported into Chad is “white wood” produced by small-scale logging. Only 25% of this volume is cleared through Chad’s customs. Official import procedures are time-consuming and costly in Chad. Those involved have therefore set up a “fast-track” customs clearance process for timber, characterised by bribery and under-reporting of the volumes imported. As result, Chad is losing some 3 billion F CFA in tax revenues, but the practice is highly lucrative for customs officers, freight forwarders, traders and final users of the sawn wood. Various measures can be considered to change these informal practices. On the demand side, in Chad, legalising the trade could be facilitated by combining a change in the tax status of timber products with ad hoc penalties, at a minimum, for some of those in breach of the law and the introduction of premiums for proper law enforcement by tax inspectors. On the supply side, in Cameroon, the priority issue is more effective regulation of logging and timber trade practices in community forests.

Keywords: saw-wood, customs, intra-African trade, corruption, community forest, Congo basin.


Download
the article



AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH FOR DEVELOPMENT

Legal information - Last update: March 2017
© CIRAD 2001 - Contact: bft@cirad.fr

Bois et forêts des tropiques

Résumés et articles : n° 329
(3e trimestre 2016)


Tous les résumés
(en français, en anglais et en espagnol)

Nouveau numéro

Numéro 329


 

CROISSANCE RADIALE ET SENSIBILITÉ AU CLIMAT DU PISTACHIER DE L’ATLAS, PISTACIA ATLANTICA DESF., EN ALGÉRIE

N. Ifticene-Habani, M. Messaoudene

Le pistachier de l’Atlas, Pistacia atlantica Desf., est assez peu étudié alors qu’il occupe une place importante dans les écosystèmes steppique et saharien algériens (Ahaggar : Sahara central). L’espèce constitue un cas écologique et biogéographique particulier ; son association à d’autres espèces caractéristiques des milieux saharien, aride et semi-aride indique sa très grande résistance aux changements globaux, notamment climatique. La question posée est de savoir comment réagit cet arbre aux changements climatiques actuels suivant un gradient d’aridité. Une étude dendro-éco logique a été entreprise pour identifier les facteurs climatiques régissant la croissance radiale de cette espèce. Cette approche permet de préciser à différentes échelles spatiales et temporelles la relation entre variabilité climatique et variabilité de la croissance radiale du pistachier de l’Atlas. La réponse du pistachier de l’Atlas aux évènements climatiques extrêmes a été étudiée par l’analyse des années caractéristiques. L’étude a porté sur quatre populations installées dans deux régions : la région des hautes plaines steppiques de Djelfa et la région présaharienne de Béchar. L’analyse révèle que les années caractéristiques dépendent fortement des conditions hydriques (précipitations moyennes annuelles) et thermiques (températures moyennes annuelles). Les années de forte croissance correspondent à des années humides. En revanche, les années de faible croissance correspondent à des années sèches. La réponse du pistachier de l’Atlas à la grande variabilité climatique est traduite par les valeurs élevées du coefficient de sensitivité moyenne. L’analyse des fonctions de réponse montre l’importance des précipitations dans la croissance radiale du pistachier de l’Atlas, et le rôle moindre joué par les températures dans des conditions modulées par le biotope.

Mots-clés : Pistacia atlantica, climat aride, croissance radiale, dendroécologie, pistachier de l’Atlas, climat saharien.


Télécharger
l'article

EFFET DES FACTEURS STATIONNELS SUR LA CROISSANCE RADIALE ET LA RÉPONSE DU PIN D’ALEP AU CLIMAT DANS LE MASSIF DE L’OUARSENIS, ALGÉRIE

M. Sarmoum, F. Guibal, F. Abdoun

Les relations entre le climat et la croissance radiale sur la période 1967-2010 de neuf populations de pin d’Alep dans le massif de l’Ouarsenis (Nord-Ouest de l’Algérie) ont été étudiées en fonction des facteurs stationnels (substrat, altitude, exposition et âge des arbres) à l’aide de méthodes de dendrochronologie. Les variations interannuelles des épaisseurs de cernes ont été analysées. L’étude rétrospective de la croissance radiale indique une forte variabilité interannuelle des épaisseurs des cernes à l’intérieur d’une même population. Les paramètres statistiques calculés indiquent une forte variabilité de la croissance radiale entre les populations, cette variabilité étant liée aux facteurs stationnels et à l’âge des arbres. L’âge joue un rôle négatif sur l’épaisseur moyenne des cernes et sur le phénomène de persistance. La sensitivité (sensibilité au climat) moyenne des arbres tend à être plus élevée sur les substrats gréseux ou schisteux que sur les substrats calcaires. L’analyse des relations cerne-climat montre que le pin d’Alep est réactif aux précipitations de la période précédant ou contemporaine de la formation du cerne. Les températures interviennent négativement sur la croissance radiale, surtout par leurs valeurs maximales. Les relations du pin d’Alep aux conditions climatiques sont modulées par les facteurs stationnels, notamment le substrat. Les populations les plus réactives se localisent davantage sur un substrat gréseux. Ces résultats constituent un descriptif utile pour comprendre la plasticité écologique du pin d’Alep et sa réponse aux changements climatiques, afin de proposer des mesures destinées à assurer une meilleure protection des pinèdes menacées depuis plusieurs décennies.

Mots-clés : Pinus halepensis, facteurs stationnels, croissance radiale, relations cerne-climat, sécheresse, Ouarsenis.

.


Télécharger
l'article

BÉNÉFICES SOCIOCULTURELS ET ENVIRONNEMENTAUX DES VERGERS FAMILIAUX DES HAUTS PLATEAUX DU MEXIQUE

J. C. García Flores, J. G. Gutiérrez Cedillo, M. Á. Balderas Plata, M. R. Araújo Santana

Cette étude vise à analyser les perceptions des agro-écosystèmes sur le plan socioculturel et environnemental parmi les propriétaires de vergers familiaux situés dans la zone de transition écologique de l’État de Mexico. La méthodologie comporte trois étapes : 1) caractérisation géographique des localités et des agro-écosystèmes ; 2) analyse des bénéfices sociaux des vergers ; 3) potentiel des vergers et problèmes rencontrés. L’enquête s’est déroulée sur douze localités situées dans trois municipalités de l’État de Mexico, à l’aide d’entretiens semi-structurés complétés par des observations directes sur le terrain. Les vergers familiaux sont une source de nombreux bénéfices sociaux, environnementaux, écologiques et culturels : ils contribuent au bien-être des familles par la production de fruits, de condiments et de plantes utilisées dans diverses cérémonies, récoltées pour l’autoconsommation, la vente ou le troc. Ces vergers sont également une source de bois de feu, de bois de construction, de piquets et d’ornements. Ils sont ainsi à considérer comme des agro-écosystèmes de grande importance et dont le fonctionnement repose sur des relations complexes entre l’ensemble de leurs composantes. Les bénéfices socioculturels et environnementaux de ces agro-écosystèmes productifs aux fonctions multiples peuvent être un atout considérable pour la réussite de stratégies de cohésion sociale et de sécurité alimentaire en milieu rural, tout en contribuant à la préservation des ressources naturelles de la région.

Mots-clés : vergers familiaux, bénéfices socioculturels, familles rurales, bénéfices environnementaux, agro-écosystèmes, Mexique


Télécharger
l'article

SURVIE DES SEMENCES DE SWIETENIA MACROPHYLLA SEMÉES SUR BRÛLIS DANS L’ÉTAT DE QUINTANA ROO AU MEXIQUE

P. Negreros-Castillo, I. Martínez-Salazar, K. F. Kellner, C. W. Mize, R. K. Swihart, M. A. Navarro-Martínez

En Amérique tropicale, la régénération de l’acajou à grandes feuilles, Swietenia macrophylla King, essence commerciale majeure, est problématique en raison de ses caractéristiques de fructification et de dispersion et de sa faible tolérance à l’ombre et sa réaction à l’exploitation forestière. Dans l’État de Quintana Roo, au Mexique, les brûlis abandonnés offrent d’excellents espaces pour l’établissement de jeunes plants, mais un moyen efficace permettant d’assurer la survie des semences reste à identifier. La présente étude s’est attachée à évaluer la probabilité de prédation des semis directs d’acajou, en analysant les effets de trois types de traitement (quatre types de protection des semences, deux méthodes de semis et deux moments de semis dans la journée). Le pourcentage moyen de semences éliminées ou consommées en partie sur une période de 12 heures varie de 1,1 à 7,7 % selon les quatre types de traitement des semences mais ne varie pas selon les deux méthodes de semis. La précipitation au moment du semis est fortement positive pour la reprise des semences, tandis que la température journalière minimale a un effet légèrement négatif. L’effet de la date des semis, selon le calendrier julien, est positif pour la survie des semences. La prédation des semences ne varie pas selon les traitements de protection qui permettent l’accès aux seuls rongeurs, aux seuls insectes et aux deux, et la prédation est plus importante avec ces trois types de traitement qu’avec le traitement interdisant totalement l’accès aux prédateurs. La prédation des semences n’est pas influencée par le moment du semis dans la journée. Le semis direct est favorable à la régénération de l’acajou, notamment lorsque les semences sont trempées pendant au moins deux semaines avant le semis pour réduire les risques de prédation et augmenter les chances de survie et de reprise.

Mots-clés : Swietenia macrophylla, acajou, régénération, sylviculture, forêt tropicale, prédation des semences, Mexique.


Télécharger
l'article

DIVERSITÉ ÉCOLOGIQUE ET CONSERVATION D’ARBRES SAUVAGES À FRUITS COMESTIBLES DANS LA RÉSERVE FORESTIÈRE DE LAMA AU BÉNIN

S. Agbahoungba, A. E. Assogbadjo, F. J. Chadare, R. Idohou, V. K. Salako, E. E. Agoyi, R. L. Gièlè Kakaï

Une bonne connaissance des interactions entre les forêts et les communautés humaines voisines est indispensable à la gestion participative des ressources forestières. La présente étude s’est attaché à déterminer la diversité écologique des arbres sauvages à fruits comestibles (ASFC) dans la Réserve forestière de Lama, zone protégée dans le sud du Bénin, et à définir des stratégies de conservation adaptées. Un inventaire des ASFC a été réalisé sur 53 placettes systématiquement délimitées dans des forêts denses typiques, de forêt dense dégradée et de jachère dans la Réserve forestière de Lama, ainsi qu’une enquête ethnobotanique auprès de 136 participants. Les habitats des ASFC ont été identifiés à partir d’une Analyse des Correspondances Simples sur les données de densité. Une liste d’especes prioritaires a été générée par la méthode des rangs composés : Dialium guineense, Diospyros mespiliformis, Drypetes floribunda, Mimusops andogensis et Pterocarpus santalinoides en forêt dense typique ; Pancovia bijuga, Psidium guajava et Lecaniodiscus cupanioides en forêt dense dégradée ; Ficus capensis et Spondias mombin dans les jachères. Contrairement aux autres essences, la densité moyenne de D. guineense, D. mespiliformis, D. floribunda, L. cupanioides et M. andongensis varie de manière significative (P < 0,01) selon les types de végétation. Les ASFC recensés sont principalement utilisés dans l’alimentation et la pharmacopée. Les essences à conserver en priorité sont P. guajava, S. mombin, F. capensis, P. santalinoides et P. bijuga. Des efforts de protection renforcés sont nécessaires en forêt dense dégradée et dans les zones de jachère pour assurer la conservation de ces essences. D’autre part, il convient d’intégrer les ASFC prioritaires dans des programmes de plantation afin de réduire la pression des communautés humaines voisines.

Mots-clés : conservation, réserve forestière de Lama, diversité, arbres sauvages à fruits comestibles.


Télécharger
l'article

EXPORTATIONS DE BOIS DU CAMEROUN VERS LE TCHAD : UN SUCCÈS COMMERCIAL MAIS UNE LÉGALITÉ DÉFAILLANTE

G. Lescuyer, M. Tal

L’importance et les moyens mis en oeuvre pour importer des sciages au Tchad en provenance du Cameroun sont peu documentés. Deux enquêtes ont été réalisées pour dresser le diagnostic actuel de cette filière. D’une part, un suivi des flux de sciages a été assuré à N’Djamena et à Moundou de juillet à décembre 2015. D’autre part, des entretiens ont été conduits avec 16 personnes pour caractériser les processus suivis pour importer et dédouaner le bois provenant du Cameroun. Selon nos enquêtes, le volume de sciages arrivant au Tchad à partir du Cameroun s’établit à 79 000 m3 sur la période d’enquête, soit probablement environ 210 000 m3 par an. C’est plus qu’un doublement de l’activité par rapport aux estimations réalisées en 2009. Presque la totalité des sciages importés au Tchad est constituée de « bois blancs » et ils sont produits avec des moyens artisanaux. Seulement 25% de ce volume est enregistré par les douanes tchadiennes. Les procédures officielles d’importation sont longues et coûteuses au Tchad. Les acteurs de la filière ont donc mis en place une « filière courte » de dédouanement du bois, qui se caractérise par une sous-déclaration des volumes importés et le versement de pots-de-vin. Cette pratique engendre un manque à gagner fiscal d’environ 3 milliards de FCFA pour l’État tchadien, mais elle procure des bénéfices importants aux officiers des douanes, aux transitaires, aux commerçants et aux consommateurs finaux de sciages. Plusieurs mesures sont envisageables pour modifier ces pratiques informelles. Côté demande, au Tchad, le changement de statut fiscal des produits bois, la sanction au moins ponctuelle de certains fraudeurs, et l’instauration de primes liées à l’application de la loi par les contrôleurs pourraient être combinés pour faciliter la légalisation de ce commerce. Côté offre, au Cameroun, l’enjeu majeur est de mieux réguler les pratiques d’exploitation et de commerce du bois dans les forêts communautaires.

Mots-clés : sciage, douane, commerce intra-africain, corruption, forêt communautaire, bassin du Congo.


Télécharger
l'article



LA RECHERCHE AGRONOMIQUE POUR LE DÉVELOPPEMENT

Informations légales - Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2017
© Cirad 2001 - Contact : bft@cirad.fr