Bois et forêts des tropiques

Abstracts & articles: n° 327
(1st quarter 2016)


All abstracts
(In French, English and Spanish)

New issue

Issue 327


 

WINDTHROW PATTERN AND REGENERATION OF TREES IN THE IPASSA BIOSPHERE RESERVE IN GABON

J.- P. Obame Engone, L. Bélanger, S. Assame

This study was conducted to characterise the pattern of disturbance caused by windthrow in the forest of Ipassa (Gabon) and to analyze the links between types of windthrow and the regeneration of different tree species. The pattern of windthrow disturbance was studied in a permanent 38 hectares plot. Windthrow was monitored annually for five years from 2005 to 2009. We also assessed the natural regeneration of trees according to different types of windthrow. The study results show that 72% of windthrown trees in the forest of Ipassa are partially fallen or single trees. Each year, these occupied 1.3% of the surface area studied. The scale of windthrow varied on average from 52 ± 13 m2 to 625 ± 220 m2, with a half-life of about 53 years. Multiple Correspondence Analysis showed that in 47 species (25.7%), regeneration is associated with the different types of windthrow. Twelve species of sun-loving trees regenerate exclusively in multiple or complex windthrow situations, while 35 shade-tolerant species tend to regenerate in partial and single-tree windthrow situations. In several tree species, there is no obvious link between regeneration and windthrow patterns. This suggests that other factors besides windthrow, such as limited dispersal, influence the regeneration of tree species.

Keywords: sciaphilous species, natural regeneration, pattern of windthrow, tropical forest, Gabon


Download
the article

DYNAMICS OF FOREST COVER AND CARBON STOCK CHANGE IN THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO: CASE OF WOOD-FUEL SUPPLY BASIN FOR KINSHASA

V. Gond, E. Dubiez, M. Boulogne, M. Gigaud, A. Peroches, A. Pennec, N. Fauvet, R. Peltier

To contribute to the development of methods for the sustainable management of forest ecosystems in Central Africa, the following research question was addressed: can analyses of land cover change help to understand and document the spatial organization and mechanisms of forest degradation? To answer this question in the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Makala project mapped the tree and forest resources of Kinshasa’s wood-fuel supply basin and attempted to predict how they would evolve in the future. Maps were made for four periods (1984, 2001, 2006 and 2012) using a mosaic of four LANDSAT images. The above-ground biomass was estimated in 2012 using forest inventories in 317 plots distributed across the four types of plant cover found on the Bateke plateau (4,337 trees and 44 species were recorded). This inventory data combined with the satellite data allowed us to make the first comprehensive assessment of above-ground biomass in the study area. Between 2000 and 2012, the average volume of wood-fuel fell by more than 50%. Over the entire period studied (1984 to 2012), carbon stocks fell by 75%. In the wood-fuel supply area for Kinshasa, the drastic loss of forest cover, shortened fallow periods, savannah encroachment and the decline of biomass and carbon stocks are clear signals of degradation. However, these initial estimations were derived from a small sample that was extrapolated to the entire supply area. It would be very useful to increase sampling in order to obtain more accurate and realistic figures. The experience of the Makala project clearly shows that the analysis of land cover change helps to understand and document the spatial organization and mechanisms of forest degradation. However, only with a sound wood-fuel resource policy and sustainable community land management, combined with very dynamic tree reintroduction on agricultural land, will it be possible to initiate a sustainable process of restoration.

Keywords: wood-fuel, carbon stocks, forest cover, forest degradation, forest inventory, forest restoration, remote sensing, Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo.


Download
the article

VEGETATIVE PROPAGATION OF VITEX DONIANA SWEET FROM ROOT SEGMENT CUTTINGS

P. M. Mapongmetsem, G. Fawa, J. B. Noubissie-Tchiagam, B. A. Nkongmeneck, S. S. H. Biaou, R. Bellefontaine

Vitex doniana Sweet is a common multipurpose species in tropical Africa, which has considerable socio-economic importance. Unfortunately, it is extracted from the wild and there has been little or no focused effort to domesticate and cultivate the species. Mastering its propagation through root segment cuttings (RSC) is a real alternative to the difficult process of regeneration from seeds. The aim of our study was to assess two of the key factors (rooting medium and root diameter) that influence its rooting ability. The root system of 23 trees was partially excavated to a depth of 20 cm. Root segment cuttings 15 cm in length were carefully cut and arranged horizontally in a polypropagator, on five different substrates. The experimental setup involved a split-plot design with three replications. The main treatment was applied to all five substrates: black soil (Bs), fine sand (S), sawdust (Sd), 50% Bs/50% Sc (Bs-Sc) and 50% Bs:50% S (Bs-S). The secondary treatment covered two diameter size classes (0.5-1cm; 1.1-2.5 cm). The latency time before emergence was 8 weeks for the aerial shoots and 12 weeks for the roots. After 28 weeks, the percentage of leafy shoots formed varied from 28.3% in the black soil substrate (Bs) to 55.0% in the sand (S). Aerial shoots developed mainly (82%) on the distal pole. The RSC diameter had a significant influence (P < 0.01) on the development of leafy shoots. The budding rate of the RSC was 21 ± 1.8% for 0.5-1 cm RSC and 86 ± 7.8% for 1.1-2.5 cm RSC. The diameter also had a significant impact (P < 0.001) on RSC rooting. The rooting rate was 12 ± 2.3% for 0.5-1 cm RSC and 59.3 ± 4.7% for 1.1-2.5 cm RSC. These results show that vegetative propagation by RSC could improve the economic value of V. doniana in Cameroon’s savannah uplands.

Keywords: Vitex doniana, vegetative propagation, domestication, rooting ability, root segment cuttings, Cameroon.


Download
the article

LOCAL PERCEPTIONS AND KNOWLEDGE OF LOCAL OIL-SEED PLANTS IN BURKINA FASO’S KÉNÉDOUGOU PROVINCE

F. R. S. Tiétiambou, A. M. Lykke, G. Korbéogo, A. Thiombiano, A. Ouédraogo

Local oil-producing plants have many different uses and are a source of income for rural communities. The aim of our study is to understand local perceptions and knowledge of these species and the oil they produce in Burkina Faso’s Kenedougou Province. The methodology used combines a participatory social approach with ethnobotanical surveys. We interviewed a total of 336 people from 4 community groups (Toussian, Siamou, Bolon and Fulani) across 14 villages. The results show that 11 oil-seed plants are well known, four of which account for 94% of all citations. Significant variations in knowledge on the rarely cited species are age-related (Χ2 = 8.11 ; p = 0.0173). Adults and elderly people are more knowledgeable.Women have the most knowledge of oil extraction and processing techniques (Χ2 = 19.79; p < 0.001). These techniques are known for seven species, but are only applied to extract oil from four of them, Vitellaria paradoxa, Elaeis guineensis, Carapa procera and Lophira lanceolata. The oils from all the 11 cited species are mainly used to prepare medicines (47%), food (37%) and cosmetics (16%). Preferences for different oils among the communities are influenced by their uses but also by knowledge of extraction techniques, their ease of use and the oil yield that can be extracted from the seeds. The figure for the informant consensus factor (68%) shows that the species that communities are willing to preserve are those that are most useful to them. Promoting the oils produced from these plants could be a key to their preservation.

Keywords: local knowledge, local plants, oil-seed plants, community preferences, use value, Burkina Faso.


Download
the article

NATURE AND PERIODICITY OF GROWTH RINGS IN AFRICAN TIMBER: CAN THEY BE USED TO DETERMINE THE AGE OF TREES?

A. Mariaux I. Bossanyi (Trans.)

To draw up logging plans for African forests, it is essential to know at what age the trees can be felled, whether for timber from dense humid forests or for fuelwood from savannah areas. However, attempts are rarely made to monitor tree growth over a number of years. Could growth rings be used to provide at least an approximation of the age of trees marked for felling? This methodological article published nearly 40 years ago, and now translated into English, first gives an overview of the nature and anatomy of growth rings in African timber, explaining how, even when they are hard to discern with a magnifying glass, they can be counted individually by applying a mechanical treatment to the surface, followed by X-rays. The second part of the article discusses ways of determining the periodicity of growth ring formation, with a close look at the main difficulty that arises for tropical species, which is that growth rates in one and the same species do not necessarily match the seasonal cycle. Various methods have been used since the 1920s to analyse the dynamics of wood formation in tropical tree species. Taking periodical samples of the cambium around the circumference of the trunk produces good results but the method is destructive. Incisions made into the bark leave scars from which different points in the wood can be dated. Another method involves making an incision each year and placing dendrometric tape around the tree. Regular monthly readings then show the exact periods when wood is being formed. Two years of observation are enough to produce good results.

Keywords: growth rings, growth, felling diameter, X-ray, tropical timber, Africa.


Download
the article



AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH FOR DEVELOPMENT

Legal information - Last update: June 2017
© CIRAD 2001 - Contact: bft@cirad.fr

Bois et forêts des tropiques

Résumés et articles : n° 327
(1er trimestre 2016)


Tous les résumés
(en français, en anglais et en espagnol)

Nouveau numéro

Numéro 327


 

RÉGIME DE CHABLIS ET RÉGÉNÉRATION DES ARBRES DANS LA RÉSERVE DE BIOSPHÈRE D’IPASSA AU GABON

J.- P. Obame Engone, L. Bélanger, S. Assame

La présente étude vise à caractériser le régime de perturbations par chablis de la forêt d’Ipassa (Gabon) et à analyser les liens entre les types de chablis et la régénération des espèces d’arbres. Nous avons étudié le régime de perturbation par chablis dans un dispositif permanent de 38 ha. Le suivi annuel de nouveaux chablis a été mené durant cinq années entre 2005 et 2009. Nous avons également évalué la régénération naturelle des espèces d’arbres au sein des différents types de chablis. L’étude montre que la forêt d’Ipassa est principalement affectée par un gradient de chablis partiels et chablis élémentaires qui constituent 72 % du total de chablis recensés. Ces chablis ont annuellement occupé 1,3 % de la surface étudiée. La taille moyenne des chablis varie de 52 ± 13 m2 à 625 ± 220 m2, alors que la demi-vie est d’environ 53 ans. L’analyse des correspondances multiples montre que la régénération de 47 espèces (25,7 %) est associée aux différents types de chablis. Douze espèces d’arbres héliophiles se régénèrent exclusivement dans les chablis multiples et complexes alors que la régénération de 35 espèces tolérantes à l’ombrage se produit préférentiellement dans les chablis partiels et élémentaires. Cependant, plusieurs espèces d’arbres n’ont pas de liens manifestes avec les chablis. Cela suggère qu’en dehors des chablis, d’autres facteurs comme la limitation en dispersion agissent sur la régénération des espèces d’arbres.

Mots-clés : espèces sciaphiles, régénération naturelle, régime de chablis, forêt tropicale, Gabon


Télécharger
l'article

DYNAMIQUES DE CHANGEMENT DE LA COUVERTURE FORESTIÈRE ET DU STOCK DE CARBONE EN RÉPUBLIQUE DÉMOCRATIQUE DU CONGO : LE CAS DE L’APPROVISIONNEMENT EN BOIS-ÉNERGIE DU BASSIN DE KINSHASA

V. Gond, E. Dubiez, M. Boulogne, M. Gigaud, A. Peroches, A. Pennec, N. Fauvet, R. Peltier

Afin de contribuer à la mise au point de méthodes de gestion durable des écosystèmes forestiers en Afrique centrale, la question de recherche suivante a été posée : l’analyse de l’évolution de la couverture végétale permet- elle de comprendre et de documenter l’organisation spatiale et les mécanismes de la dégradation des forêts tropicales ? Pour cela, en République démocratique du Congo, le projet Makala a cartographié les arbres et les ressources forestières du bassin d’approvisionnement en bois-énergie de Kinshasa et a essayé de prédire son évolution future. La carte a été réalisée à quatre périodes (1984, 2001, 2006 et 2012) avec une mosaïque de quatre images Landsat. L’estimation de la biomasse aérienne a été faite en 2012, par l’inventaire forestier de 317 parcelles (4 337 arbres de 44 espèces) dans les quatre types de couverture végétale, sur le plateau Batéké. Entre 2000 et 2012, le volume moyen de bois-énergie a chuté de plus de 50 % et les stocks de carbone de 75 % en 28 ans. La réduction drastique du couvert forestier, la baisse significative des périodes de jachère, l’augmentation des surfaces de savane, le déclin des stocks de biomasse et de carbone, constituent des signaux particulièrement forts. Mais ces premières estimations sont dérivées des données d’un petit échantillon, extrapolées au bassin d’approvisionnement. Il serait très utile d’augmenter l’échantillonnage, pour approcher des valeurs plus justes et concrètes. L’expérience du projet Makala montre clairement que l’analyse de l’évolution de la couverture végétale permet de comprendre et de documenter l’organisation spatiale et les mécanismes de la dégradation des forêts. Mais seules une politique consciente et une gestion durable des terres des communautés, combinées avec une réintroduction des arbres dans les terres agricoles, peuvent initier un processus de restauration durable.

Mots-clés : bois-énergie, stock de carbone, couvert forestier, dégradation forestière, inventaire forestier, restauration forestière, télédétection, Kinshasa, République démocratique du Congo.


Télécharger
l'article

PROPAGATION VÉGÉTATIVE DE VITEX DONIANA SWEET À PARTIR DE SECTIONS DE RACINE

P. M. Mapongmetsem, G. Fawa, J. B. Noubissie-Tchiagam, B. A. Nkongmeneck, S. S. H. Biaou, R. Bellefontaine

Vitex doniana Sweet est une espèce à usages multiples d’une grande importance socio-économique et commune en Afrique tropicale. Malgré sa forte utilisation en milieu rural, elle est encore présente à l’état sauvage. Il existe peu de données sur sa domestication. La propagation de cet arbre par bouturage de segments de racine constitue une alternative à sa difficile régénération sexuée. L’objectif de notre travail était d’évaluer deux des facteurs clés (substrat d’enracinement, diamètre des boutures) qui influencent l’aptitude des boutures de segments de racine (BSR) à néoformer des pousses feuillées et des racines. Le système racinaire de 23 arbres a été partiellement excavé sur une profondeur de 20 cm. Des BSR de 15 cm de long ont été disposées horizontalement dans des polypropagateurs sur cinq substrats différents, arrosés matin et soir. Le dispositif était un split-plot à trois répétitions. Le traitement principal recouvrait cinq substrats : terre noire (Tn), sable fin (S), sciure de bois (Sc), 50 % Tn/50 % Sc (Tn- Sc) et 50 % Tn/50 % S (Tn-S). Le traitement secondaire distinguait deux classes de diamètre (0,5-1cm ; 1,1-2,5 cm). Après la mise en culture des BSR, le temps de latence d’émergence était de 8 semaines pour les pousses aériennes et 12 pour les racines. Après 28 semaines, le pourcentage de pousses feuillées formées variait de 28 % (Tn) à 55 % (S). Les pousses aériennes se sont développées majoritairement (82 %) sur le pôle distal. Le diamètre des BSR a déterminé le développement des pousses feuillées (P < 0,01). Le taux de bourgeonnement des BSR oscillait entre 21,0 ± 1,8 % pour les BSR de 0,5- 1 cm et 86,0 ± 7,8 % pour la classe 1,1-2,5 cm. Le diamètre a également impacté l’enracinement des BSR (P < 0,001). Le taux d’enracinement des BSR variait de 12,0 ± 2,3 % pour les petits diamètres à 59,3 ± 4,7 % pour les plus gros. La multiplication végétative par BSR peut améliorer la filière économique de V. doniana dans les hautes savanes guinéennes du Cameroun.

Mots-clés : Vitex doniana, multiplication végétative, domestication, aptitude à l’enracinement, bouturage de segments de racine, Cameroun.


Télécharger
l'article

PERCEPTIONS ET SAVOIRS LOCAUX SUR LES ESPÈCES OLÉAGINEUSES LOCALES DANS LE KÉNÉDOUGOU, BURKINA FASO

F. R. S. Tiétiambou, A. M. Lykke, G. Korbéogo, A. Thiombiano, A. Ouédraogo

Les plantes oleagineuses locales offrent des usages multiples et constituent une source de revenus pour les communautes rurales. L’objectif de notre etude est de comprendre les perceptions et les savoirs des populations de la province du Kenedougou (Burkina Faso) concernant ces plantes et leurs huiles. La methodologie utilisee est une combinaison de l’approche participative sociale et d’enquetes ethnobotaniques. Au total, 336 personnes ont ete interrogees au sein de quatre groupes communautaires (Toussian, Siamou, Bolon et Peulh) a travers 14 villages. Les resultats revelent 11 plantes oleagineuses connues, parmi lesquelles quatre representent 94 % de l’ensemble des citations. Le savoir sur les especes ne varie significativement que selon l’age (Χ2 = 8,11 ; p = 0,0173). Ce sont les adultes et les aines qui disposent plus de savoir sur ces especes. Les femmes sont les principales detentrices des savoirs sur les techniques d’extraction des huiles et leur transformation (Χ2 = 19,79 ; p < 0,001). Ces techniques sont connues pour sept especes mais elles ne sont effectivement appliquees que pour l’extraction des huiles de quatre especes : Vitellaria paradoxa, Elaeis guineensis, Carapa procera et Lophira lanceolata. Les huiles des 11 especes citees sont principalement utilisees dans la medecine (47 %), l’alimentation (37 %) et la cosmetique (16 %). La preference des communautes pour les huiles est influencee par leurs utilisations mais egalement par le savoir sur la technique d’extraction, la facilite de cette technique et le rendement en huile extractible de la graine. Les valeurs du Facteur consensus d’informateurs (68 %) revelent que les especes que les populations consentent a preserver sont celles qui sont les plus utilitaires. La promotion de l’huile de ces plantes pourrait etre un atout pour leur preservation.

Mots-clés : savoirs locaux, plantes locales, plantes oléagineuses, préférences communautaires, valeur d’utilisation, Burkina Faso.


Télécharger
l'article

LES CERNES DANS LES BOIS TROPICAUX AFRICAINS, NATURE ET PÉRIODICITÉ : PEUVENT-ILS RÉVÉLER L’ÂGE DES ARBRES ?

A. Mariaux I. Bossanyi (Trans.)

Dans une démarche de planification de l’exploitation forestière, il est nécessaire de connaître à quel âge les arbres africains peuvent être exploités, ceci autant pour le bois d’oeuvre en forêt dense humide que pour le bois énergie en savane. Or, le suivi de la croissance sur plusieurs années est rarement assuré. Les cernes de croissance peuvent-ils dès lors fournir une estimation au moins approximative de l’âge des arbres exploitables ? Cet article méthodologique publié en français il y a bientôt 40 ans, aujourd’hui traduit en anglais, présente d’abord de manière générale et dans une première partie la nature et l’anatomie des cernes des arbres de bois africains. Il précise alors de quelle manière ces cernes, quand ils sont peu visibles à la loupe, peuvent être individualisés et comptabilisés par traitement mécanique de surface puis radiographie aux rayons X. La seconde partie est consacrée aux moyens de déterminer la périodicité de formation des cernes. Elle intègre bien entendu la difficulté principale représentée, pour une même espèce tropicale, par le décalage entre la croissance végétative et la succession des saisons. Diverses méthodes ont été utilisées dès les années 1920 pour analyser la dynamique de formation du bois chez des essences forestières tropicales. Les prélèvements périodiques de cambium réalisés en tournant autour de l’arbre constituent une méthode intéressante, cependant destructive. Des incisions pratiquées dans l’écorce laissent dans le bois des cicatrices qui permettent de dater différents points dans le bois. Une autre méthode consiste à pratiquer une incision annuelle et à poser un ruban dendrométrique autour de l’arbre, dont le suivi régulier et mensuel permet de révéler les périodes de formation du bois. Deux ans d’observation suffisent à obtenir de bons résultats.

Mots-clés : cernes, croissance, diamètre exploitable, rayon X, bois tropicaux, Afrique.


Télécharger
l'article



LA RECHERCHE AGRONOMIQUE POUR LE DÉVELOPPEMENT

Informations légales - Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2017
© Cirad 2001 - Contact : bft@cirad.fr